Norne
Is this serious?!!
  • 2006/8/22 23:01

• Norne

• Just popping in

• Since: 2006/8/8 1

I'm new to Xoops, but I have already migrated 3 small sites and I was planning to start 2 big ones. I like the way XOOPS comes without any preinstalled modules, and I like the way it's themed. I have started these smaller sites with News, Weblinks and myAlbum, and I have had no problems what so ever.

The documentation is hard to find and the website is not very well organized, but somehow I have made my way aroud it, and I have been happy!

BUT: I tried the Magazine module, and it didn't show, so I looked around the support forum. I found this explanation by "tzvook" dated 2006/5/3:

Quote:
The "magazine" won't work with php 5, and the whole XOOPS installation is acting bad ...

Honestly - If that is the case, you should have printed it in BIG RED LETTERS on the front page of the XOOPS website! Half the servers running PHP are upgraded to PHP5 by now, so this information is of common interest!

So what would you suggest? Should I contact my clients about the installations I have already finished and tell them that this is not going to work, so we need to migrate to Drupal or Joomla? I wouldn't even consider downgrading PHP, so that may be the only way to avoid looking like a fool because of this.

But judging by the numbers, there must be others out there running XOOPS on PHP5? I would appreciate to hear what problems you have experienced, so I can get an outline of what to expect...

Swain
Re: Is this serious?!!
  • 2006/8/22 23:20

• Swain

• Not too shy to talk

• Since: 2006/6/27

I would say your problem is just with that particular module. I run PHP5 and have never encountered any problems because of it. If you go with Drupal or Joomla, you are going to wind up losing in the long run in my opinion as both are severly lacking in several areas XOOPS is not. Find another module like magazine, or have someone create one would be my advice.

Tabasco
  • 2006/8/22 23:29