theprof
About the XCOMICS module.....
  • 2004/7/19 14:37

• theprof

• Quite a regular

• Since: 2004/7/14

How often does the comics update and change? Or do you have to manually change them yourself.

And as far as copyrights....I know it says they are downloaded straight from the net, what are the copyright inplications for this comic module? Am I violating any compyrights by posting this module on my site?

Herko
Re: About the XCOMICS module.....
  • 2004/7/19 14:58

• Herko

• XOOPS is my life!

• Since: 2002/2/4 1

It changes once per day, and yes, use of this odule can violate some copyrights. Use of this oudle is at your own risk (as not all comics have these restrictions).

Herko

longhair
  • 2004/7/19 15:08

• longhair

• Friend of XOOPS

• Since: 2004/3/29

I use the Comics module and it does in fact update once a day.

In regards to copyrights, I'm no lawyer, but the default module installation did include userfriendly.org comics, which when viewed popped up a rather amusing image to inform me that taking the comic in this way was not to their liking.

I've since disabled User Friendly from the module, and I also added the comments of 'All comic strips remain the property of their respective owners' under each strip to avoid bother.

I've not had a problem to date with comic owners and copyright.

theprof
  • 2004/7/19 16:37

• theprof

• Quite a regular

• Since: 2004/7/14

Great that they do update daily. I am sure my members will like this feature. Yes, I also saw the userfriendly.org message..and also took them from the module itself..lol....

'All comic strips remain the property of their respective owners'

I will put that in a block...thanx for the info

Nater
  • 2004/9/22 3:40

• Nater

• Just popping in

• Since: 2004/9/22

I installed this xComics Module.. and it says No comic found with this ID. in the block. I don't quite understand if maybe it doesn't work with the latest version of Xoops.. or why it's not showing the comics..

MadFish