brojo
Seminar about XOOPS
  • 2004/1/6 18:26

• brojo

• Just popping in

• Since: 2003/12/18

Hello everybody!

I’m a student of Industrial Engineering and Computer Science at the University Kaiserslautern / Germany. Next week on 14. January I have to hold a proseminar about XOOPS.
The documentations, articles and forum weren’t able to answer all my questions, so I hope you do or eventually you know someone how does.
Ok, here we go…

What exactly was the reason to develop XOOPS?
So far I heard, XOOPS is mainly based on PHPNuke, so what differs XOOPS from PHPNuke, why not make just another PHPNuke version with the differences we find in XOOPS?

What exactly are the differences between XOOPS and PHPNuke?
(The topic of the proseminar, that takes place before mine is PHPNuke and in my opinion it seems to make more sense to focus stronger on the differences then on the common parts)
The User-/ and Groupmanagement is one thing I think…

What exactly is “contend” in XOOPS?
Only text, text and graphics,…?

How do the interface between Database and XOOPS-GUI work?
What must be initialised to get data out of the Database in data-templates to structure them and in theme-templates to format them, when and how does this happen?

What is the correct pronunciation of XOOPS?
One Word ? X oops ? single letters X O O P S ?…

That's it… I think…
Thank you…

(oh… I think I have to improve my English during me studies)

Mithrandir
Re: Seminar about XOOPS

I'll try and answer some of your questions

Q: "What exactly was the reason to develop XOOPS?"
A: I don't know really, since I've only been with XOOPS for about 6-7 months, but I assume that people (Onakazu) was unhappy with the PHPNuke and lack of good support so he went out and made his own thing.

Q: "What exactly is “contend” in XOOPS?"
A: Content? Contents of XOOPS can be anything presentable through PHP and HTML

Q: "How do the interface between Database and XOOPS-GUI work?"