wammes
Re: Joomla Vs. Xoops
  • 2007/8/19 19:31

• wammes

• Not too shy to talk

• Since: 2002/1/3 1

I have no experience with joomla.

How good is joomla with userrights compared to xoops?
Can I make groups and manage admin and acces rights with joomla?

Thanks.

skenow
  • 2007/8/19 20:23

• skenow

• Home away from home

• Since: 2004/11/17

Quote:

wammes wrote:
I have no experience with joomla.

How good is joomla with userrights compared to xoops?
Can I make groups and manage admin and acces rights with joomla?

Thanks.

I'm not sure you're going to get that question answered here - this being a XOOPS forum, after all.

Catzwolf
  • 2007/8/19 23:08

• Catzwolf

• Home away from home

• Since: 2007/9/30

I would have to say that XOOPS groups rights are much better than Joomla in many respects, but you should be able to use other components to add the same functionality as Xoops.

khairulfaizi

Hi,

I'd say Joomla is appropriate for personal, commercial or corporate website, as you can customize Joomla easily to suite your needs.

But when it come to community portal where it involved a lot of user databases, XOOPS is the best.

Joomla seems to get bloated if it involved a lot of users, resulting in slow page loading, and straining on server resources.

wingrider101

You are comparing apples and oranges.

Xoops is, from it's name on down, a "programmers content management system". Who else but programmers would put Object Oriented in the name of software intended to eliminate programming for the actual users of it? Programmers drive the team. Programmers have written all the code. Programmers have had all the arguments and version hassles that have fundamentally put XOOPS on semi-permanent hold now for over a year.