tom
[XoopsTeam] - News Team To Become Communication Team?
  • 2007/6/9 20:08

• tom

• Friend of XOOPS

• Since: 2002/9/21

My account as is now was registered in 2002, however my time with XOOPS stems back to about the time this project was born, I was one of the original Nuke converts.

I'm not a hardened coder, but I tend to be able to figure things out, most of the time through hours upon hours of research. If I can't I ask here

Because of my involvement over the years, I'd like to believe I have a good understanding of Xoops, most of it's users, it's capabilities and whats available to extend the system, ie modules, hacks and themes.

I've also spent fairly large chunks of my time contacting other developers around the net in an attempt to get them porting their scripts over to XOOPS as modules. I was the original guy whom contacted Tufat and assisted with language of the flash chat module.

I believe the news teams responsibilities will also fall in line with various team positions I've seen posted, including:

[XoopsTeam] slyss79 - promotion - member
JAVesey - Community Coordination
Madfish - Documentation and Promotion - member
[XoopsTeam] - wtravel - Documentation and Promotion - member

And others which revolve around promotion.

If you wonder why, then please let me show you what I envisage from a news team.

Community Liaison - Someone whom would be a base point of contact for the community, this person would conduct interviews with various people, and not just developers.

This is their possible interviewees:

- Core Developers - Once every month or to conduct a 'word from the devs' type article, this would help to free the time of the devs, as they wouldn't have to constantly be writing lengthy reports.

- Community sites - To interview someone of international support site, which will help show the world what everyone is doing, in a language we all can understand.