danand725
Criticism of my Xoops site by a web designer
  • 2007/4/18 10:55

• danand725

• Just popping in

• Since: 2004/12/3

Hello fellow XOOPS users:

I've been running the Epping Forest Band website since 2004, after the band's previous effort to get online failed. I wanted to help out, and knew XOOPS could help me get online quickly, and also not tie any one person into providing all the content.

So the website has been through many changes - some good, some bad. Trying to implement every idea the band had proved interesting, and eventually I had to scale things back a little. Protector can sometimes be interesting, locking people out of the site. Also I've had to help the user base use their own computers! I guess we've all been there.

Recently - within the last few months, a web designer has joined the band and has been constantly demanding to take over the site - move away from XOOPS and use his design services. The band committee have been rebuffing these advances, and have kept their faith in my XOOPS based site. I am finding it frustrating dealing with the constant and substantial criticism from his sources.

Not sure why I'm posting to you all. I like using XOOPS and I think it has served the band well and will continue to do so.

Current site: http://www.eppingforestband.co.uk

The non-Xoops alternative: http://www.inet.me.uk/epping/

Any comment and advice gratefully received.

Daniel Andrews
EFB Webmaster

PS, any good brass players in the area - we need you! .... had to get that in!

svaha
Re: Criticism of my Xoops site by a web designer
  • 2007/4/18 11:06

• svaha

• Just can't stay away

• Since: 2003/8/2 2

In Holland we have a saying on 'seagull managers', they come in, loud yelling, sh*t on everything and everybody, and then, when everything is broke, they leave.

Don't doubt yourself.
What doesn't kill me,
makes me stronger.

http://exm.amevita.eu
http://www.amevita.eu
http://www.alohaspirit.nl

mortuk
  • 2007/4/18 11:09

• mortuk