tedsmith
When Xoopers are made to feel like frauds or fakes
  • 2005/10/1 12:26

• tedsmith

• Home away from home

• Since: 2004/6/2 1

Can I ask...

I find that when people find out, read or are told that your new 'all-singing-all-dancing' web site was created with Xoops, people seem to 'play down' your achievements with statements like "Oh, so you didn't build it from scratch then?", and "So anyone could have done it" etc etc. They don't seem to grasp that despite the fact that modules etc have been written for the users, there's still a great deal fo work for each webmaster to do to customise their XOOPS site into an actual site that specifically meets their (or their clients) needs. I always like to tell people that 'my new site' was created with XOOPS because I don't like to pretend I'm a fancy PHP programmer when I'm not. But as soon as I do, I tend to lose credit for the work I've done.

In other words, people don't seem to understand that the features and functionalities of XOOPS have taken many developers and thousands of Xoopers years to develop. No one average person could realistically have ever created it on their own. There is still a lot of work that each webmaster has to do on their own sites. On average it has taken me about 8 weeks (1 to 2 hours per night) to do each of my two websites from start to launch date with the obvious changes that trickle through once the site is live. So it's still a lot of work although yes, I'm not a core, module or theme developer.

But the average web user\computer user doesn't seem to understand that.

I wonder what other Xoopers say when they are met with this response?

Ted

Mithrandir
Re: When Xoopers are made to feel like frauds or fakes

Quote:
I wonder what other Xoopers say when they are met with this response?

Usually something beginning with "Your mom..."