jonbowen
Xoops 'Licensing'
  • 2004/3/26 9:17

• jonbowen

• Just popping in

• Since: 2004/3/24

Hi - We're developing a CRM suite for use in the non-profit sector. To keep costs down, we're heavily discounting our own services, and hoping to build on Open Source platforms.
However, to provide top quality support and documentation, we're intending to keep ownership of the bit we build.
It looks like XOOPS would make an excellent part of the foundation.
If we develop modules for XOOPS that are not open-source, where do we stand in relation to the 'free' license?
If we end up selling our product at 'cost price' to charities, where do we stand?
If we end up selling commercially (and raking in the dosh) where do we stand?
Would you rely on our generosity/honesty to make appropriate donations, or would you prefer something more formal?
I look forward to hearing your thoughts on this,
Best wishes, Dr. Jon Bowen

Mithrandir
Re: Xoops 'Licensing'

I am no expert in these matters, but I think the conclusion to previous questions like this is that when you develop code, which cannot work without an underlying Open Source system, the code itself also must be released with the same license, i.e. the GNU GPL license.

You can charge for the services you provide, but not the code itself.

MadFish
  • 2004/3/26 10:07

• MadFish

• Friend of XOOPS

• Since: 2003/9/27

Hi

There's a link about licensing of new modules available here. Also, the GPL license terms are worth a read.

Regards

Simon

Mithrandir

OK, seems I was wrong - but still, as the FAQ says, it is probably not going to bring in the dough due to your product being source code.

Personally, I am very splitted in the pay-for-modules issue. On one hand, I do think that I can make some good modules, which are worth money - but on the other hand, I would really like more modules out there, which I can look at and copy bits, pieces and approaches to enhance my own works.