Housey
Best Wiki Module
  • 2010/10/21 6:55

• Housey

• Just popping in

• Since: 2003/1/2 1

Hi,

Can anyone suggest the best Wiki module?

Are there any demos of a good one?

Thanks in advance...

ghia
Re: Best Wiki Module
  • 2010/10/21 7:49

• ghia

• Community Support Member

• Since: 2008/7/3 1

Never used one, but here is MediaWiki used.
But WiwiMod/SimplyWiki from skenow should also be a good one.

nmshah
  • 2010/10/21 12:37

• nmshah

• Just can't stay away

• Since: 2007/7/2 8

If you are looking for a simple Wiki module then I feel the one by skenow is very good. MediaWiki I think has has a bigger learning curve compared to simplywiki

redheadedrod

So what Wiki modules do we currently have available? Mediawiki, dokuwiki and wiwimod/simplewiki? Are there any more?

I am working on trying to port the newer Mediawiki but since it is my first attempt at a real xoops module there is a bit of a learning curve so don't wait for it. However I expect there to be an easy upgrade path the the newer Mediawiki if I am successful.

MediaWiki is the basis for Wikipedia and there is a lot of support for it.

Rodney

Housey
  • 2010/11/21 10:41

• Housey

• Just popping in

• Since: 2003/1/2 1

Hi,

Long time since i've been able to look at this again. Thanks for the replies.

I'm after a Wiki that will allow functionality like Wikipedia but importantly allow the addition of photos (and possibly videos but this is not that important).

Does simpleWiki allow photos to be added to articles?

cheers...

redheadedrod

MediaWiki DOES allow that stuff but I have suspended my work on anything until the end of the year because of some work and health related issues.

Your best bet otherwise is to get the others and play with them.