SaddleBrooke
Adding Existing PHP/MySQL App to Main Menu?

I had previously developed an application (PHP/MySQL) for my Recipes, that I'd like to include on the Main Menu and have displayed on the main page.

Is there a way to call my /Recipes directory and include it, or do I need to develop my own module?

I've already looked at an existing user-developed module for recipes, but would much prefer to use my own app. Since I'm new to XOOPS, I dread the learning curve of setting up my own module?

Any advice or help appreciated.

ghia
Re: Adding Existing PHP/MySQL App to Main Menu?
  • 2009/10/29 23:49

• ghia

• Community Support Member

• Since: 2008/7/3 1

- FAQ: adding links to the menu.
- You could also try to include your script in a blank module as eg Ghost.
- Writing a module tutorial from Kaotik.

SaddleBrooke

Thanks for the advice. I have 2 questions,

1. Please explain eg. ghost? The term "ghost" doesn't mean anthing to me. My recipes database and related features is not little. Can you clarify how I might go about doing the blank module, eg. "ghost".

2. Modifying the main menu won't allow me to control whether registered users can access ... or will it? I want to control access to my /Recipes and related PHP/MySQL application. Any suggestions.

I'm net to XOOPS and the module approach, but if that's the only approach that will control access to my application, then let me know.

SaddleBrooke

I edited my Main Menu to include my app, and it works well. However, there are 2 prolems or issues that I see ...

1. Replaces XOOPS, that is the app replaces my XOOPS appReplaces XOOPS, that is the app replaces my XOOPS app. Is there a way to bring up the app in a seperate window ... e.g., Target=_blank or even better to bring up the app inside the same window like the other regular items on the main menu.