jmspiers
Minibrowser
  • 2006/10/14 0:05

• jmspiers

• Just popping in

• Since: 2006/5/20

Does anyone know of a module that works as a mini-browser, kind of like the ones that have been developed for the Google personalized homepage?

The reason that I ask is because I use XOOPS as an Intranet, and what I need is a way for users to view an HTML page from within Xoops. The CATCH is that the HTML page refreshes constantly, and the data changes. If I use a simple HTML wrap then the page becomes outdated after 30 seconds (literally).

The only way that I can think of to do it is with some sort of mini-browser, because then it's viewing live content instead of wrapping a static HTML page.

Anyone have any suggestions?

chippyash
Re: Minibrowser
  • 2006/10/14 8:30

• chippyash

• Friend of XOOPS

• Since: 2004/1/29

I may be off beam here (I'm not a jscript expert), but I seem to recall that you can do something with javascripting to refresh your page in a loop. You add an event handler for the page refresh event to call your timer that then refreshes after a certain time. This could work for the whole page but you want only the block containing your bit to refresh, so perhaps the new AJAX methodology might work.

Also take a look athttp://www.phpclasses.org/
to see if there is anything there that you can use.

hope it helps
A

zyspec
  • 2006/10/14 16:23

• zyspec

• Module Developer

• Since: 2004/9/21

The easiest way to do this is to create a custom HTML block... Then just wrap the contents of the page you want with an iframe. Kind of like:

<iframe width="100%" src="https://xoops.org"></iframe>

Djiman
  • 2006/10/14 16:57

• Djiman

• Just popping in

• Since: 2006/7/26

Put this bold part in the header of your them or template
<META HTTP-EQUIV="REFRESH" CONTENT=2>

it will refresh your site every two seconds, - change the number 2, to your time that you wish.

chippyash
  • 2006/10/15 15:02

• chippyash

• Friend of XOOPS

• Since: 2004/1/29

Djiman and zyspec,