rlankford
Re: Which PHP editors are best?
  • 2006/8/3 17:42

• rlankford

• Not too shy to talk

• Since: 2004/8/27

Well, this is kind of ironic. I was just coming out to ask this very questions, and I find this longish thread devoted to the same thing! My interest has been peaked by easy eclipses-php. So I downloaded all 124 megabytes worth and installed it.

I'm kind of stuck here. I know I'm a total newby, but any help would be greatly appreciated. I am working on a custom module in xoops. I have xampp (apache, mysql, php, etc) installed locally (127.0.0.1) with a XOOPS install running my module. How can I set this up in easyeclipse so that I can step through this project and debug it line by line?

I've created a new project and pointed it to the actual module directory under htdocs. Easyeclipse then found all the files in this directory. I can click on any file and it'll bring it up in the editor. So far so good!

Then I switch to the "debug" perspective to try and debug my project. I quickly learned that I needed to configure a 'PHP DBG Script'. So I created a new one of those. I pointed the "File Tab"->"Project" field to the project that I just established. I then pointed the "File" field to my index.php in the module's root folder (beneath htdocs/xoops). I didn't touch the "Arguments" tab. I'm left confused by the "PHP Environment"->"Remote Debug" tab.

Can anyone please give me an idea of how they are setting up their module projects so that they can work on them?

wtravel

Quote:

frankblack wrote:
Thx from me too for this excellent tip! You seem to be a real insider so I guess you can solve this problem as well:

Eclipse freezes when opening files with about 1500 lines (or more) of code (I don't know where the limit is downwards). I already assigned 356 MB (should be enough?) to Eclipse

eclipse.exe -vmargs -Xmx356M

Does somebody know a workaround for this?