mpzacharias
howto get xoops to show on main page
  • 2006/6/30 20:52

• mpzacharias

• Just popping in

• Since: 2006/6/30

Hi...just getting my feet wet with xoops. I have it installe and working on my site under www.mywebsite.com/xoops but I have to enter www.mywebsite.com/xoops/html as the url in my browser to see my XOOPS site. How can I set it up so that I just have to enter www.mywebsite.com?

thanks from a complete newbie...

Michael

Quest
Re: howto get xoops to show on main page
  • 2006/6/30 21:24

• Quest

• Friend of XOOPS

• Since: 2005/11/19

The way I did it was to upload all files in the html or htdocs folder to the root directory ie; on some servers it is public_html. You don't need to upload the html folder or the htdocs folder themselves, just all the folders and files inside.

Not sure what you could do now. You could do a fresh install. Just drop all the tables in your database then delete the folder you originally uploaded your files to- which looks like yoursite.com/xoops/html and then upload all the folders again to yoursite.com then follow the rest of the install procedures.

There is more info on this in the F.A.Q.s and the Documentation from the Community Menu.

Hope this helps.

Quest

Bender
  • 2006/6/30 21:50

• Bender

• Home away from home

• Since: 2003/3/10

You just move all the files and subfolders from inside the html folder one level down.

Then edit mainfile.php and change the path there to www.mywebsite.com/xoops and the correct directory on the server without the html and you are done.
Sorry, this signature is experiencing technical difficulties. We will return you to the sheduled signature as soon as possible ...

Lance_
  • 2006/6/30 22:50

• Lance_

• Home away from home

• Since: 2004/1/12

Continuing Bender's steps.

Create an index.php file and place it in your /public_html beside the XOOPS folder with the following code.
You can rename the XOOPS folder to anything you like, I use "cms" a lot.
<?