Catillion
Photography
  • 2006/6/1 20:43

• Catillion

• Just popping in

• Since: 2006/6/1 2

I am a professional photographer who is trying out XOOPS for the first time. I have successfully installed Apache as local host and all is working. Now, I want to start setting up a site on my machine to test its adequacy for photos before I upload to my server. That leads to the question of which photo album that is available would be proper for a professional photo site in which my photographs will be properly displayed.

Now, I am new to this entire web master and XOOPS process and that is why I am asking questions that may appear to be to broad, such as the question concerning photo albums. I know a little CSS and am somewhat adequate with xhtml. I know next to nothing about php or mysql. Therefore, I merely need a bit of assistance, reference or guidance in figuring out XOOPS and this question concerning the photo album modules that may be available. I would be extremely grateful for a push in the right direction from some of you more expert users. Hey, thanks for taking the time to read and I hope that you can help me out.

jensclas
Re: Photography

Welcome to xoops!

I new nothing and probably still know next to nothing about php and my sql...you don;t need to know until you want to play in an element of XOOPS like miduoe building...plenty of others here do play and they share what they do with us...so let's get you off to a good start as someone who was like me...game but not savvy!

Time for some research for you:
1. XOOPS docs - click the link on the left and grab the official support docs, look at the 'glossary' in the workspace too.
2. FAQ - particularly the modules section - somewhere in there is an FAQ on choosing modules and a section on installing on your home computer first. - This is covered also in the installation manual on XOOPS documentation site.