TurtleEKH
Installing XK Editor
  • 2006/5/23 13:39

• TurtleEKH

• Just popping in

• Since: 2006/5/23

I'm brand new to XOOPS and testing it to decide whether to use it for a current site I have. Many of my users are not very saavy, and I find the form/news posting editor rather counter-intuitive from what my users will expect (IPB Forums is what they are used to).

I wanted to try XK Editor, but cannot understand from the limited documentation how to have it replace the current editor.

Could someone point me in the right direction?

This is what I''m trying to install.Koivi

tcnet
Re: Installing XK Editor
  • 2006/5/23 20:47

• tcnet

• Friend of XOOPS

• Since: 2006/5/12

Hi,
Welcome to Xoops!

Extract xk_editor(formerly koivi) and view the index.html in the docs folder. It has alot of useful information on editing a module for koivi use.

Install the editor by publishing the wysiwyg folder to your XOOPS root/class directory and system_imagemanger.html to modules/system/templates (overwrite existing).

Many of the more advanced modules (News Module 1.44 by hervet, Article 0.90 by phppp, CBB 3.02 by phppp) allow you to select an editor in their module preferences.

For instance, if you are using News Module 1.44, navigate to control panel/module/preferences/news and look for "Form Option" and set it to koivi. Submit the update and you will have Koivi in your news module.

Getting other modules or all editors in the script to use Koivi is a little more complicated. Here are some links that helped me:

How to quickly replace all the textarea with kiovi in Xoops

How to use wysiwyg editor in module

Good luck!

barkndog
  • 2006/5/24 20:09

• barkndog

• Just popping in

• Since: 2006/4/19

I just did this yesterday - in fact while searching for hints I came across your post. I wound up using the documentation for xk_editor and figuring it out - I'll address some things that might help: