DavidPook
Spyware in Xoops ?
  • 2005/2/28 20:37

• DavidPook

• Just popping in

• Since: 2005/2/8 2

Guys and Gals.... sorry for the dramatic heading but....

I have a user on my site that has run some spyware software....Here is what she has written to me

Quote:
I'm sorry if this is gonna ruin it for you. I hope not. I think the site may have Spyware. I'm not just guessing this, i've put it to the test. When i log in, i'm getting a lot of activity on the computer even if i'm doing nothing, then i'll run Microsoft AntiSpyWare, Spybot or even McAfee and find threats that weren't there prior. I'm no Genius where computers are concerned, so i REALLY hope i'm wrong. I'd rather tell you then keep my mouth shut, just in case.

Could someone inform me of 2 things:

1. Go visit my site and tell me if you find any threats

2. Tell me that XOOPS isnt bundled with spyware ? (I am sure it isnt)

As you can tell.... I am not a coder or programmer but purely a user and i love playing around with XOOPS and changing a little bit of stuff.... So i have no idea on how to check for spyware stuff and dont really understand it anyway !!!!

Please could someone put my mind at rest or perhaps tell me that i have a virus on the software i installed ??? ( I have anti virus software which is kept up to date on a daily basis)

Please help and thanks for reading....

showcase17
Re: Spyware in Xoops ?
  • 2005/2/28 22:15

• showcase17

• Not too shy to talk

• Since: 2005/1/6 0

You can test it yourself, can't U? Just run everey spyware prog U have an d vist your site and run every spyware again. You'll find out!

hyperpod
  • 2005/2/28 22:27

• hyperpod

• Quite a regular

• Since: 2004/10/4

There is absolutly no spyware associated with xoops.

It does however have a high level of security and usually depends on cookies, which can flag some security software.