Salihah
Anyone with GoDaddy?
  • 2006/7/21 2:28

• Salihah

• Just popping in

• Since: 2006/7/21

I'm considering using XOOPS. Does anyone host with GoDaddy? Is it 'XOOPS compatible' lol or is XOOPS install in the Fantasico section of the cPanel with them?

Thank you! Salihah

exbanious
Re: Anyone with GoDaddy?
  • 2006/7/21 3:34

• exbanious

• Not too shy to talk

• Since: 2004/5/30

I've been using godaddy for a few months and haven't noticed any problems. XOOPS installs fine.
they use a version of phpmyadmin for MySQL administration.
just upload XOOPS through an ftp client and it install as usual. i think their using PHP 4.3.11 and MySQL 4.0.24.

eventspeak
  • 2006/7/21 4:43

• eventspeak

• Just popping in

• Since: 2006/3/20

I have been using godaddy for about 2 years. i have had every type of hosting package they offer. I know have a dedicated server from them about 140$ but it came preconfigured and no real problems yet....

If you use there shared hosting and install XOOPS from cpanel (pre-installed software) BEWARE the database is not accesable from out side of the XOOPS site. need to run phpmyadmin XOOPS mod. (sounds crazy but true...)

If you install XOOPS on the shared account and create a database then no problem..

hope this helps with the decision.
James Trivlis
james(@)Eventspeak.com
http://www.eventspeak.com

Salihah
  • 2006/7/21 4:44

• Salihah

• Just popping in

• Since: 2006/7/21

Thank you! Sounds good!

Salihah

eventspeak
  • 2006/7/21 4:44

• eventspeak

• Just popping in

• Since: 2006/3/20

I have been using godaddy for about 2 years. i have had every type of hosting package they offer. I know have a dedicated server from them about 140$ but it came preconfigured and no real problems yet....

If you use there shared hosting and install XOOPS from cpanel (pre-installed software) BEWARE the database is not accesable from out side of the XOOPS site. need to run phpmyadmin XOOPS mod. (sounds crazy but true...)