ChrisCorreia
Can an end user/non developer really install and set up XOOPS?

I'm just a regular guy. I set up a basic web site for my business using Frontpage. That's the extend of my development experience. No HTML. No PHP. Little knowledge of web server terminology.

Can I really install and set up XOOPS myself? I've perused FAQs, posts, tutorials etc, and I get the impression that no info is available that really can walk this ignoramous though the install and set up process in such a way that they won't hit deadends, and deadends that I won't even be able to articulate in asking questions. People who know a bit about such matters often, I think, make assumptions about what people like me know; telling us to read the documentation/tutorial and to search forum topics is easy to do, but that stuff doesn't always make sense to a complete noob.

So, can I do it? Frankly, I cant' afford to spend hours a day over the course of two weeks setting things up and figuring things out. If that's what it will take, I won't do it.

What I'm looking at doing is setting up a discussion forum for citizens in my city to debate dialogue on community issues. I know I can do that with a Simple Machines forum, which I've just added into my business website, but I got the idea that it could be good to use a CMS so that I could integrate a blog, announcements, offer some polls, etc.

XOOPS, or any CMS, might be more than I need for such basics, but I thought I'd set things up well for the future. An online acquaintance told me XOOPS would hold my hand through the process compared to using Joomla or Mambo, but I'm not convinced of that based on what I've been reading. It might be simpler, but it's not hand holding from what I have read. There are gaps and assumptions in the docs and posts I've read. There is a reason that Frontpage has a user base. I'm it, even if I am interested in stepping out/up.

skenow
Re: Can an end user/non developer really install and set up XOOPS?