tedsmith
I'd like to join in
  • 2005/11/19 18:43

• tedsmith

• Home away from home

• Since: 2004/6/2 1

I am interested in the possiblity of learning how to create XOOPS modules. I've been an xooper for about 18 months now but never really ventured into the field of PHP and module development, so I'm a total Noob in that regard.

Can anyone point me in the direction of where to start? Good tutorials, guidance notes, tips on creating modules, the basic structure and concept of a module, etc?

Thanks

Ted

gestroud
Re: Id like to join in
  • 2005/11/19 19:13

• gestroud

• Home away from home

• Since: 2004/12/22

Here you go, Ted
https://xoops.org/modules/smartfaq/category.php?categoryid=16

This one is particularly relevant:
https://xoops.org/modules/smartfaq/faq.php?faqid=172

tedsmith
  • 2006/5/20 20:54

• tedsmith

• Home away from home

• Since: 2004/6/2 1

I think I'm just not getting it.

I've recently developed XOOPS Importer (see here) as a script and wanted to make it moduler.

But I read the above links and they are clearly very useful, but they don't really assist someone whose never, for example, explored the SQL files used for installation of a module. I haven't got a clue where to start making my two or three php and html files of XOOPS Importer into a module or how to make a set of templates for it.

The above links make statements like "SQL dump files used for module installation belong to the SQL folder and include mysql.sql and MySQL dump file" but I don't know (really) what I need to write in my SQL file or how to apply it to Xoops.

Do you see what I mean? In other words, is there any documentation that states quite literally from the beginning how to make a module? I feel like I'm missing out on something because people are releasing new modules daily like it's as easy as writing a letter. I don't consider myself totally dumb so cannot help but feel someone knows of something I don't...or maybe I am quite dumb