1
karedokx
Creating a Blank/Dummy Module
  • 2005/1/22 2:52

  • karedokx

  • Quite a regular

  • Posts: 319

  • Since: 2004/7/1 6


i want to put some of the existing blocks (from the modules i have installed in my website) in a (new) page (instead of putting them in the top page/other page for example).

the only way i can think of is to create a blank/dummy block so then i can allocate those blocks to the module (thru the blocks management screen).

do you guys have any other better way to achieve that?

how can i create a blank/dummy module too, for the purpose above?

appreciate your feedback and assistance on this. thanks.

2
PHPhurts
Re: Creating a Blank/Dummy Module
  • 2005/1/22 4:34

  • PHPhurts

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 23

  • Since: 2004/12/28


Dealing with the same design issue's... The Xoop's for Dummies documentation addresses this and solved the dummy module issue though...

You first create a new folder in the Modules directory named for the dummy module...

Then create index.php file with the following basic code:
_____________________________
<?php
include("../../mainfile.php");
include(XOOPS_ROOT_PATH."/header.php");
$xoopsOption['show_rblock'] = 1;
?>


<?php
include(XOOPS_ROOT_PATH."/footer.php");
?>
______________________________

Then create a file called xoops_version.php with the following code:
______________________________
<?php
$modversion['name'] = "Dummy Module";//name of module
$modversion['version'] = 1.01;
$modversion['description'] = "Dummy Module";
$modversion['author'] = "";
$modversion['credits'] = "";
$modversion['help'] = "";
$modversion['license'] = "GPL see LICENSE";
$modversion['official'] = 0;
$modversion['image'] = "yourlogo.JPG";
$modversion['dirname'] = "dummy";//name of directory

// Admin things
$modversion['hasAdmin'] = 0;
$modversion['adminpath'] = "";


// Menu

// Menu for submenus in main menu when page loads
$modversion['hasMain'] = 1;//0 to remove from main menu
$modversion['sub'][1]['name'] = _MI_MYPAGE_SMNAME1;//define in language/english/global.php
$modversion['sub'][1]['url'] = "../../modules/ipboard/";
$modversion['sub'][2]['name'] = _MI_MYPAGE_SMNAME2;//define in language/english/global.php
$modversion['sub'][2]['url'] = "../../modules/weblog/";


?>
_______________________

You also place your little logo in the dummy directory. This acts as the icon to install the module from in the module admin page...

Good Luck, and if there is a more refined solution, I'm looking to, so report it here please!

3
carnuke
Re: Creating a Blank/Dummy Module
  • 2005/1/22 9:18

  • carnuke

  • Home away from home

  • Posts: 1955

  • Since: 2003/11/5


Look athttp://worldware.com then check out xoopermod. It makes a complete module framework based on certain inputs from the user.

4
PHPhurts
Re: Creating a Blank/Dummy Module
  • 2005/1/22 15:16

  • PHPhurts

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 23

  • Since: 2004/12/28


Thanks for the link carnuke!! I can see that there is a wide XOOPS world out there, I have only scratched the surface... Glad to see others employeeing XOOPS in the ecommerce area... Thats where I'm headed... I'll post a link to my wonderful new site when it actually has content!!

Any other mod development tools are appreciated.. The more novice the better!

5
jegelstaff
Re: Creating a Blank/Dummy Module

Xoopermod is great.

Another way I have done what the initial post requires, where you just want to put a special block on a separate page of your site, is use WF-channel and simply make one blank page in it, turn off the link to us and refer a friend standard pages, and turn on the block I want for display in WF-channel only. This saves you having to make a blank module yourself just to display a block.

If you already have WF-Channel installed for other purposes on your site, or you want more than one section of your site handled this way, you can use our handy Perl script to clone WF-Channel. Details here:

https://xoops.org/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=26041

Note: we have not tested the script with WF-channel 1.07. Details about compatibility (and a possible update to the script) will be posted shortly.

--Julian

6
banned
Re: Creating a Blank/Dummy Module
  • 2005/1/22 22:26

  • banned

  • Not too shy to talk

  • Posts: 159

  • Since: 2004/5/16


Quote:

PHPhurts wrote:
Dealing with the same design issue's... The Xoop's for Dummies documentation addresses this and solved the dummy module issue though...

You first create a new folder in the Modules directory named for the dummy module...

Then create index.php file with the following basic code:
_____________________________
<?php
include("../../mainfile.php");
include(XOOPS_ROOT_PATH."/header.php");
$xoopsOption['show_rblock'] = 1;
?>


<?php
include(XOOPS_ROOT_PATH."/footer.php");
?>
______________________________

Then create a file called xoops_version.php with the following code:
______________________________
<?php
$modversion['name'] = "Dummy Module";//name of module
$modversion['version'] = 1.01;
$modversion['description'] = "Dummy Module";
$modversion['author'] = "";
$modversion['credits'] = "";
$modversion['help'] = "";
$modversion['license'] = "GPL see LICENSE";
$modversion['official'] = 0;
$modversion['image'] = "yourlogo.JPG";
$modversion['dirname'] = "dummy";//name of directory

// Admin things
$modversion['hasAdmin'] = 0;
$modversion['adminpath'] = "";


// Menu

// Menu for submenus in main menu when page loads
$modversion['hasMain'] = 1;//0 to remove from main menu
$modversion['sub'][1]['name'] = _MI_MYPAGE_SMNAME1;//define in language/english/global.php
$modversion['sub'][1]['url'] = "../../modules/ipboard/";
$modversion['sub'][2]['name'] = _MI_MYPAGE_SMNAME2;//define in language/english/global.php
$modversion['sub'][2]['url'] = "../../modules/weblog/";


?>
_______________________

You also place your little logo in the dummy directory. This acts as the icon to install the module from in the module admin page...

Good Luck, and if there is a more refined solution, I'm looking to, so report it here please!


Adding
$xoopsOption['template_main'] = 'dummy_mydummy.html';
in index.php

and a blank html file called dummy_mydummy.html in yourmodule/templates folder you can add you own html in the module using the templates system

7
karedokx
Re: Creating a Blank/Dummy Module
  • 2005/1/23 7:24

  • karedokx

  • Quite a regular

  • Posts: 319

  • Since: 2004/7/1 6


thank you all for the recommendation/solutions. i will try all those and see which one fits my requirement best. thank you, once again.

8
m0nty
Re: Creating a Blank/Dummy Module
  • 2005/1/23 8:06

  • m0nty

  • XOOPS is my life!

  • Posts: 3337

  • Since: 2003/10/24


jan304 also submitted a dummy module aswell a while ago..

it's still in the modules list on the sourceforge.net site under this name > xoops2-mod_sample_module_v1_0_jan304.zip

9
karedokx
Re: Creating a Blank/Dummy Module
  • 2005/1/23 13:17

  • karedokx

  • Quite a regular

  • Posts: 319

  • Since: 2004/7/1 6


thank you m0nty.

i have tried the recommendation provided by all of you above and today is another milestone in my XOOPS life: i created my first module, a dummy module!

i manage to create the module (using the suggestion PHPHurts and banned have provided) and it fit my requirement perfectly. thanks to you all.

10
m0nty
Re: Creating a Blank/Dummy Module
  • 2005/1/23 17:00

  • m0nty

  • XOOPS is my life!

  • Posts: 3337

  • Since: 2003/10/24


thats good to hear :) i was looking at xoopsmodder last night after reading this thread, nice piece of software :)

Login

Who's Online

195 user(s) are online (121 user(s) are browsing Support Forums)


Members: 0


Guests: 195


more...

Donat-O-Meter

Stats
Goal: $100.00
Due Date: May 31
Gross Amount: $0.00
Net Balance: $0.00
Left to go: $100.00
Make donations with PayPal!

Latest GitHub Commits