phillipd
Why isn't smarty used in admin scripts
  • 2004/10/31 4:14

• phillipd

• Quite a regular

• Since: 2004/4/20

I just checked all the modules that come with XOOPS and shockingly discovered that none use smarty in their admin scripts. Why is this? One exception to this is agendax (I know it doesn't come with xoops), and it uses very little in the way of smarty and templates in its admin code.

Puzzled

Doug P

Dave_L
Re:Why isn't smarty used in admin scripts
  • 2004/10/31 4:46

• Dave_L

• XOOPS is my life!

• Since: 2003/11/7

The reason is simply that no one bothered to do it.

You can do it now, but it's awkward. I think that XOOPS 2.1 is supposed to have better support for this.

phillipd
  • 2004/10/31 5:04

• phillipd

• Quite a regular

I'm a beginner at developing XOOPS modules. I've heavily modified the xoopsfaq module to make it do what I needed and have created another GIS module to display maps from a ESRI system from scratch. I was about to write my first admin module for this GIS project when I discovered this lack of smarty usage in admin scripts.

If I could impose on one of you hard working XOOPS masters...

1) Why is it anymore awkward than just writing a module? What am I missing here?

2) What "support" was required that wasn't there previously.

3) Are there any restrictions I should know about?

4) Do you know of any other modules with admin scripts, that use smarty as the prevalent way to generate admin forms, I can use for educating myself?

Gratefully

Doug P

dheltzel
  • 2004/10/31 13:53

• dheltzel

• Not too shy to talk

• Since: 2003/1/8 1

Quote:

phillipd wrote:
1) Why is it anymore awkward than just writing a module? What am I missing here?

2) What "support" was required that wasn't there previously.

3) Are there any restrictions I should know about?

4) Do you know of any other modules with admin scripts, that use smarty as the prevalent way to generate admin forms, I can use for educating myself?

Gratefully

Doug P