erivy
powered by xoops
  • 2004/5/29 8:21

• erivy

• Just popping in

• Since: 2004/5/29

Hi,

I am new to this script and I found this is a really fantastic and awesome script!!

My question is, can I removed the statement "powered by xoops" on the footer? the reason is that I don't want my competitor to copy my idea :)

I saw few post on this forum discussing about the copyright issue, so,I just want to confirm is it allowed?

Thanks in advanced! :)

---------------------------------------------------------
http://www.centralweb.biz

Mithrandir
Re: powered by xoops

You are free to do with XOOPS whatever you want to do. Including removing the footer image.

The only thing you cannot do is remove the credits in the code itself (but since they are not ever visible to the user, there's no real reason to do so)

erivy
  • 2004/5/29 10:00

• erivy

• Just popping in

• Since: 2004/5/29

wow! thanks for your super fast reply! thanks for your advise :)

---------------------------------------------------------
http://www.centralweb.biz

tl
  • 2004/5/29 16:24

• tl

• Friend of XOOPS

• Since: 2002/6/23

Quote:
My question is, can I removed the statement "powered by xoops" on the footer? the reason is that I don't want my competitor to copy my idea :)

Well, the truth is that it is really not hard for a competent competitor to figure it out.

But as Mithrandir has pointed out, you can do whatever you want, except removing credits and/or selling the package as your own.

Mithrandir

As long as the credits are intact, you can package and sell XOOPS for as much as you like.

The question is whether anyone will pay for it, when it is free for download on this site

tl
  • 2004/5/29 16:36

• tl

• Friend of XOOPS

• Since: 2002/6/23

Quote:

Mithrandir wrote:
As long as the credits are intact, you can package and sell XOOPS for as much as you like.

The question is whether anyone will pay for it, when it is free for download on this site