pgelin
What about performance issues?
  • 2004/5/24 6:25

• pgelin

• Just popping in

• Since: 2004/5/19

Hi,

I'm a newbie into this project, I was asking myself if it would be a great idea to use it for my Pedagogic Extranet Web Portal which size is around 30000 users.

I searched performance issue but I failed to find out anything. Furthemore I can't find documentation about concepts and architecture (cache manager, Apache integration, SSH, ...) from this site and the other site about documentation is almost empty...

So, Is there something in the schedule to redact a quality documentation about this side of the project?

Thanks.

limecity
Re: What about performance issues?
  • 2004/5/24 6:31

• limecity

• Friend of XOOPS

• Since: 2003/7/6 0

hmm.. i have no idea that either..
but i know xoops.org is still standing strong with 17902 users now..

Herko
  • 2004/5/24 6:38

• Herko

• XOOPS is my life!

• Since: 2002/2/4 1

the first item on the docs agenda is user documentation. Developer documentatin is also being made as the developers go, but that is mostly focussed on creating modules and code use, not architecture and concepts. XOOPS is a PHP application that runs with a minimum of apache modules installed (basic default setup of apache works), but also works on IIS, so there isn't anything to report on apache integration that isn't covered by decent (3rd party) webserver setup documentation.
As for the cache manager, I believe it is tied in with the Smarty engine (but I could be wrong! I am not a developer who was involved in the 2.0 core development). More info about Smarty can be found athttp://smarty.php.net.
About SSH, I haven't seen it working anywhere yet, not have I had any reports of it working anywhere, allthough the general prefs page does list the option to use https. So, I can't say much on that, sorry.