Slicer
Thank You for opening my eyes!
  • 2004/4/2 2:31

• Slicer

• Just popping in

• Since: 2003/12/6

I have certainly been hanging around here for too long.
I have been using XOOPS for about 9 months now. I have seen some disturbing changes in the community. The developement team is totally wasting a great resource -- the community. There are many talented programmers, debuggers, users and visionaries using this bullentin board. As a community we could solve any problem and take XOOPS to any level. Talented contributors solve annoying problems, add much needed features and offer great help to new users. But what happens to them? Herko, Mithandir, Preadator and others stand in the way of progress. This heirachy is the way programming was done in the 1970's. Each person carving out their own little niche and as a result create nothing. All I see is promises. When we get a release it is more likely to give you a blank page rather than a new feature. I haven't see any thing new since I've been here. Let's face it all modules are simply database queries poorly displayed.
This is not my idea of an April fools joke but a wake call the the developers.

Stewdio
Re: Thank You for opening my eyes!
  • 2004/4/2 3:16

• Stewdio

• Community Support Member

• Since: 2003/5/7 1

I have been a member of XOOPS for 10 months, just one month longer then you. I must be missing something. I have seen rapid growth, incredible support and above par communication to the community at large. I am no different then you, and end user who is more then satisified and impressed. Most of the changes made here on the forums have been released or on the to do list. Module makers that stand out in the community are now forming and producing outstnding results (http://dev.xoops.org/).

The people you mentioned are project leaders, the community is the rest of the team and we have been acknowledged time and time again.