21
sailjapan
Re: Problem editing news items

silly question perhaps, but what time did you submit the story? Is the 'Publish Time' in agreement with the time settings in your admin>system>preferences>general settings Default & Server timezones?

Never let a man who does not believe something can be done, talk to a man that is doing it.

22
chicks
Re: Problem editing news items
  • 2008/11/4 15:45

  • chicks

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 62

  • Since: 2007/2/14


I thought that was a problem too, it's automatically checked there however the expiration time is not checked. Having said that. i posted them last night and now it's Nov. 4. I went back and unchecked a couple and still no luck.

23
raymia
Re: Problem editing news items
  • 2008/11/4 15:45

  • raymia

  • Quite a regular

  • Posts: 221

  • Since: 2008/8/25


that could also be the problem. i've also had it. good idea sailjapan

24
raymia
Re: Problem editing news items
  • 2008/11/4 15:46

  • raymia

  • Quite a regular

  • Posts: 221

  • Since: 2008/8/25


but not the solution d*mn

25
chicks
Re: Problem editing news items
  • 2008/11/4 15:49

  • chicks

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 62

  • Since: 2007/2/14


See it shows up when I go thru the admin panel and click on a story

http://www.club-keanu.com/news/modules/news/article.php?storyid=2


but not when I make the module my start page

http://www.club-keanu.com/news/uploads/CtsbNCLxbZrsgkj7Byg7.jpg

26
raymia
Re: Problem editing news items
  • 2008/11/4 15:57

  • raymia

  • Quite a regular

  • Posts: 221

  • Since: 2008/8/25


maybe you can use the html codes and place them in a block that's placed on the frontpage. add the html code from the news item to a new block and then make it visible on the frontpage. it's more work but maybe it's a part time solution.

27
sailjapan
Re: Problem editing news items

If you're going to go to the trouble of doing that, better to use XM-Spotlight
(see my site for an example)
Never let a man who does not believe something can be done, talk to a man that is doing it.

28
Anonymous
Re: Problem editing news items
  • 2008/11/4 16:08

  • Anonymous

  • Posts: 0

  • Since:


Couple of stupid questions.....

1. Are there any blocks set to display on the news index page?

2. When you're submitting a news item there's two textboxes on the form, i.e. "The Scoop" and "Extended Text". There must be some text in "The Scoop" (it is a required field).

3. In the modules preferences, do you have "Auto approve news stories without admin intervention?" set to yes?

4. What happens if you don't have the News module set as your start page and you click on the link in Main Menu to take you to the News module's index page? You should see the same thing as when setting the module as your start module.

HTH

29
chicks
Re: Problem editing news items
  • 2008/11/4 16:46

  • chicks

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 62

  • Since: 2007/2/14


I do have blocks

Yes I always use Scoop box

Auto approve news stories without admin intervention?" set to yes? Not at first but now is.

4. when I don't have it set as start page I click on "news" in the main menu and get the same blank page. The only time I get the page visible is when I go to admin and the list of news items I click on them and see them exactly as it should be.

I'm a pain right?

30
iHackCode
Re: Problem editing news items

XM-Spotlight is not working with News 1.6x at this time. maybe use LatestNews Module

are the items set to 'Publish in Home? ' ?

CBB / LatestNews / Publisher / XM-Spotlight

(ノ◕ヮ◕)ノ*:・゚✧

Login

Who's Online

206 user(s) are online (36 user(s) are browsing Support Forums)


Members: 0


Guests: 206


more...

Donat-O-Meter

Stats
Goal: $100.00
Due Date: Mar 31
Gross Amount: $0.00
Net Balance: $0.00
Left to go: $100.00
Make donations with PayPal!

Latest GitHub Commits