gordy
Who are the developers and why do they do this?
  • 2004/7/29 19:22

• gordy

• Just popping in

• Since: 2004/7/8 2

I'm fairly new to XOOPS and I think it's amazing that this is all free. I'm just wondering how many developers there are and if they are getting paid to do this. Do they get contributions from the paypal stuff on the side or does that even cover the cost of the hosting? And who are they anyways? Are these just good people who do this after work for free or what? I'm just curious.

Herko
Re: Who are the developers and why do they do this?
  • 2004/7/29 19:33

• Herko

• XOOPS is my life!

• Since: 2002/2/4 1

The open source spirit XOOPS is famous for doesn't just mean it is free, but that it is built for everyone, by everyone. The developers contribute their time and skills to the project for free and without any strings. This doesn't mean they don't get paid for development, but not by the main project. And they are many. Anyone can change the code and improve and extend it, and submit the changes to to xoops.org project developers -who work for the xoops.org project (as well), for free.

The main developers are Onokazu, who created most of the system, Skalpa, who is slaving away to make the next step in the XOOPS evolution, Mithrandir who leads the module development community and has made many a bugfix, and a host of others who have worked one time or other on the code, or written modules, created themes, written documentation and provided support for thousands of users.

All in all a wonderful, amazing open community of people each doing a little (or a lot!) for a common cause: to make XOOPS even better!

Herko
Proud XOOPS.org project manager

gordy
  • 2004/7/29 19:52

• gordy

• Just popping in

• Since: 2004/7/8 2

Thanks for the quick reply! You guys are great! Maybe when I have some time I can work on some modules that don't exsist yet. Well maybe I'm being too ambitious. Some day I will though.

brash
  • 2004/7/29 22:45

• brash