MisterB
Registration/Membership Management Question
  • 2004/5/24 13:38

• MisterB

• Just popping in

• Since: 2004/5/24

Dear All

I am new to XOOPs and still trying to get my head around what everything does and what modules I need.

Basically, I want to use XOOPS to run a website for a membership based charity organisation (with limited funds!). On this basis, I will have some general pages viewable by everyone (eg information on joining), but then discussion boards, full member contact details etc available only to registered members. So far, so good - I think that I have managed this with having two tinycontent duplicatable modules running - one when people are not registered, the other accessible when they are (if there is an easier way, please let me know!).

A couple of questions:

1. Is there a way to have 2 versions of the login block - one that all people see that DOES NOT have the "Register Now" link in it (to stop all and sundry signing up!). The other would be where members that have joined the organisation would be sent the link to join. Alternatively, is there a way to remove the "Register Now" from the login block? I could then send the page link to register.php to people once they are given permission to join.

ANSWER DISCOVERED
Find file ../modules/system/blocks/system_blocks.php

Find line $block['lang_registernow'] = _MB_SYSTEM_RNOW;
and // out. I also removed the final line in /modules/system/templates/blocks/system_block_login.htmland also remove from theme.html (using Hiweed-blue) as it also appeared in the header

2. Is XOOPS FAQ module duplicatable, as I want a different one for members once they are logged in?