1
longhair
Forcing banner behaviour
  • 2004/4/18 16:49

  • longhair

  • Friend of XOOPS

  • Posts: 70

  • Since: 2004/3/29


Is it possible to force banner behavior?

I am running Google adsense ads on my XOOPS site, and they always open in the same browser window, taking users away from my site if clicked.

On the other hand, I have a custom image I am displaying in banner rotation, and when clicked, opens in a new window.

The only difference between the two is that the Google ads are using the 'use HTML' option, where's my custom banner is not.

I would prefer my customer banner to link to a page within my site, and prefer the Google ads to open a new window.

Can this be achieved?

2
m0nty
Re: Forcing banner behaviour
  • 2004/4/18 17:47

  • m0nty

  • XOOPS is my life!

  • Posts: 3337

  • Since: 2003/10/24


add target="_blank" to the google script after the a href section but b4 the closing >

without seeing the html code for the google banner i can't tell u where to exactly place it..


as for the XOOPS banner i'm not quite sure as any mod would affect other banners..

u could simply tick the use html box and create a little html for your banner

ie. <a href="http://your domain.com/<path to page you want>/"><img src="<path to your banner image>" width="468" height="60" border="0" /></a>

3
longhair
Re: Forcing banner behaviour
  • 2004/4/18 18:41

  • longhair

  • Friend of XOOPS

  • Posts: 70

  • Since: 2004/3/29


Your idea for my custom banner linking worked perfectly. Such a simple concept, I'm slapping my forehead for not thinking of that myself. Many thanks for your input.

I am however having troubles having my Google Adsense banners opening a new browser window.

My Original Google code is below... with obvious personal information marked with 'x'.

Quote:

<script type="text/javascript"><!--
google_ad_client = "pub-XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX";
google_ad_width = 468;
google_ad_height = 60;
google_ad_format = "468x60_as";
google_ad_channel ="XXXXXXXX";
google_color_border = "336699";
google_color_bg = "FFFFFF";
google_color_link = "0000FF";
google_color_url = "008000";
google_color_text = "000000";
//--></script>
<script type="text/javascript"
src="http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js">
</script>


and the changes I made as per your suggestion are here...

Quote:


<script type="text/javascript"><!--
google_ad_client = "pub-XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX";
google_ad_width = 468;
google_ad_height = 60;
google_ad_format = "468x60_as";
google_ad_channel ="XXXXXXXX";
google_color_border = "336699";
google_color_bg = "FFFFFF";
google_color_link = "0000FF";
google_color_url = "008000";
google_color_text = "000000";
//--></script>
<script type="text/javascript"
src="http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js" target="_blank">
</script>



I understand the concept of using the _blank target command, though in this instance, Google seems to be forcing the banners to display in the same browser window as my XOOPS web site.

Any help offered is much appreciated.

4
longhair
Re: Forcing banner behaviour
  • 2004/4/20 8:56

  • longhair

  • Friend of XOOPS

  • Posts: 70

  • Since: 2004/3/29



I've toyed with this some more, and it seems I still cannot force the Google ads to open a new browser window. I've contacted Google and am still awaiting their reply.

Has anyone out there acheived this?


5
longhair
Re: Forcing banner behaviour
  • 2004/5/23 14:42

  • longhair

  • Friend of XOOPS

  • Posts: 70

  • Since: 2004/3/29



Google have advised me that modifying the banner code is a breach of their TOS.

Seems we're stuck with Google Adsense ads opening in the same window whether we like it or not

6
mryes
Re: Forcing banner behaviour
  • 2004/6/21 18:00

  • mryes

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 21

  • Since: 2003/5/15


I'm having problem to display correcly adsense banner in xoops. if i paste just the javascript google code in XOOPS i have a strange banner view .. how to display adsense banner correctly??? please help!

7
m0nty
Re: Forcing banner behaviour
  • 2004/6/21 19:16

  • m0nty

  • XOOPS is my life!

  • Posts: 3337

  • Since: 2003/10/24


i haven't tried this, so i dunno if it will work, but being as it is using javascript it may do the job..

<script type="text/javascript"><!--
google_ad_client = "pub-XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX";
google_ad_width = 468;
google_ad_height = 60;
google_ad_format = "468x60_as";
google_ad_channel ="XXXXXXXX";
google_color_border = "336699";
google_color_bg = "FFFFFF";
google_color_link = "0000FF";
google_color_url = "008000";
google_color_text = "000000";
//--></script>
<script type="text/javascript"
src="http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js" target="_blank">
</script>


replace

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js" target="_blank">
</script>

with

<script type="text/javascript" onClick="window.open('http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js','mywindow','toolbar=yes,
location=yes,directories=yes,status=yes,menubar=yes,scrollbars=yes,copyhistory=yes,
resizable=yes')">
</script>

but i think this method is used in a form function with a button.. so it may need altering slightly

Login

Who's Online

190 user(s) are online (113 user(s) are browsing Support Forums)


Members: 0


Guests: 190


more...

Donat-O-Meter

Stats
Goal: $100.00
Due Date: Mar 31
Gross Amount: $0.00
Net Balance: $0.00
Left to go: $100.00
Make donations with PayPal!

Latest GitHub Commits