k4christ
Themes and Templates
  • 2004/4/24 19:13

• k4christ

• Just popping in

• Since: 2004/4/23

I am new to Xoops. I have seen some sites made from Xoops, and they look awesome. How do I design the look and feel to my site?

Where do I go to get templates or themes to my website? It says I need a "tar" file or something. Can someone please help me?

hIBEES
Re: Themes and Templates
  • 2004/4/24 20:36

• hIBEES

• Just popping in

• Since: 2004/4/20

unsure wot you mean but i edit my colors etc within my server files, i can chose from 3 templates,(default,phpkaox,x2t) all within the server files html/frontpage/themes.

I select the template i wish to edit (in this case x2t)
then edit stuff like colors etc at the style.css
im fairly new to this myself so i guess someone else mite give you a better description

JackJ
  • 2004/4/24 22:27

• JackJ

• Community Support Member

• Since: 2003/8/31

Themes

Three themes come with your XOOPS install. They are located here:

yoursite.com/themes/
x2t
phpkaox

To change your default theme you go to system admin /preferences / general settings and the "Default theme" dropdown box. The theme called "default" is the theme that loads on install.

To edit the look of your theme you can go to your theme folder and edit theme.html and style.css inside the folder. Some themes also have styleNN.css for Netscape, and styleMAC.css for Mac computers.

If you are trying to edit the theme.html in your themes folder and nothing changes, you set "Update module template .html files from themes/your theme/templates directory" to "yes" in general settings.

Templates:

Most themes use the default "Template". Templates control the layout of individual modules. Most themes are based on the XOOPS "default" template.