upsadaz
Domain name registrations and transfers
  • 2004/4/16 14:07

• upsadaz

• Friend of XOOPS

• Since: 2004/2/26

Hi Max.
I am a domain name manager. I manage over 150 domain names with http://www.GoDaddy.com . They are a good company to deal with as they have excellent customer support. They also have a domain name transfer concierge that you can call if you are having trouble transfering your domain name.
When you register a domain name typically you register for one year. You can actually register for more than one year at a time. So you'll have to check how many years you have registered your domain name. You cannot cancel a domain name as far as I know. You would have to let it expire and then re-register it. This is ricky though because if your DN has any value there may be someone waiting to snatch it up.
Also, when you first register your DN there is an option to lock your DN to keep it from being transferred without your knowledge. If your DN is locked you have to log in to your account at that registrar and unlock it so you can request a transfer from another registrar.If you did not register it yourself but had a hosting company do it for you they will have to unlock it.
If you transfer your domain to GoDaddy they will charge $7.95 and add one year to your registration included in that price. It is better to manage the DN registration yourself because you have total control over the DNS settings and contact information associated with that account.

Good Luck!

Anonymous
Re: Domain name registrations and transfers
  • 2004/4/16 14:37

• Anonymous

• Since:

Yes I know godaddy seems good, and i my old domain company there was no options to change anything! i would go with godaddy but they do NOT transfer .co.uk domain names! and thats what i need (http://www.safclan.co.uk) although, i have just canceled my contract and account with the host i bought it from (1&1 internet http://www.oneandone.co.uk).