1
javelin
Big gap on my page and my knowledge
  • 2004/4/7 0:32

  • javelin

  • Not too shy to talk

  • Posts: 160

  • Since: 2004/3/11


I'm transfering a load of html pages over to my new XOOPS site.
I copy the html over, sort out the image links all ok.
Submit or preview and all seems fine other than the table border lines vanish and I have a huge gap from the top of the page to where my text / table starts.

Can anyone help, please

2
HughG
Re: Big gap on my page and my knowledge
  • 2004/4/7 2:56

  • HughG

  • Not too shy to talk

  • Posts: 124

  • Since: 2003/2/21


If you're talking about the custom block (center one) you have on the main page, just go to the theme_blockcenter_c.html and lose the padding and <fieldset> tags. (back up the file first!) reload and see if thats the look you was going for. if you want more, you'll have to go into the style.css and edit it to remove the borders, etc.

Make sure to click the update themes in the general settings to YES or it wont show. Once is shows, you can set it back to NO.

3
javelin
Re: Big gap on my page and my knowledge
  • 2004/4/7 19:39

  • javelin

  • Not too shy to talk

  • Posts: 160

  • Since: 2004/3/11


I'm trying to put together various FAQ's

I want to insert a simple table into the FAQ WYSIWYG using html,
I insert the code, ensure the html tags are enabled and in preview all seems fine but on the faq page I lose the internal box borders of the table and the table starts three quarters down the page.
I've been using the simple table code below to test it,
is this any clearer?

<table border="2" cellspacing="2" cellpadding="2" bgcolor="#b0c4de">
<tr>
<td>
<div align="center">No 1</div>
</td>
<td>
<div align="center">data and stuff goes in here</div>
</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>
<div align="center">No 2</div>
</td>
<td>
<div align="center">2nd lot of data and stuff goes in here</div>
</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>
<div align="center">No 3</div>
</td>
<td>
<div align="center">Third lot of data and stuff goes in here</div>
</td>
</tr>
</table>

4
pdaddict
Re: Big gap on my page and my knowledge
  • 2004/4/7 20:19

  • pdaddict

  • Friend of XOOPS

  • Posts: 106

  • Since: 2003/4/6 1


I'm quite sure the missing border has something to do with your .css
table td {padding0border-width0vertical-aligntopfont-familyVerdanaArialHelveticasans-serif;}

5
javelin
Re: Big gap on my page and my knowledge
  • 2004/4/8 1:12

  • javelin

  • Not too shy to talk

  • Posts: 160

  • Since: 2004/3/11


Thanks the border issue is now resolved it was the .css

However the table position is still right at the bottom of the page with a huge gap above.

How do I get the table to align at the top of the page?

See example
here

6
JackJ
Re: Big gap on my page and my knowledge
  • 2004/4/8 2:35

  • JackJ

  • Community Support Member

  • Posts: 747

  • Since: 2003/8/31


The XOOPS text sanitizer converts spaces to linebreaks--a common problem

You can use an HTML compressor to overcome this

This one is freeware

http://www.alentum.com/ahc/?fahc

7
Catzwolf
Re: Big gap on my page and my knowledge
  • 2004/4/8 3:00

  • Catzwolf

  • Home away from home

  • Posts: 1392

  • Since: 2007/9/30


Which modules are you using to do this?

8
javelin
Re: Big gap on my page and my knowledge
  • 2004/4/8 10:58

  • javelin

  • Not too shy to talk

  • Posts: 160

  • Since: 2004/3/11


Many thanks the HTML compressor worked a treat.

I seached all over trying to find anyone else with this issue with no avail, surely others have had the same issue in the past.

I wonder if there are any other small workarounds or tips like this that are largely taken for granted by the great and the good which would really help us newbie's get to grips with Xoops.

Thanks again for your help

9
wellstuck
Re: Big gap on my page and my knowledge
  • 2007/12/4 10:30

  • wellstuck

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 35

  • Since: 2007/11/14


I have exactly the same problem in Userpage module and with the AMS Article Management System. I enter html that I have put together on dreamweaver and when i submit the page and go to read the page, i get about 4 x A4 blank pages of space and then i get me article at the bottom. I can't imagine what is causing this on 2 different modules. What do I do because other people must be using the modules fine

Login

Who's Online

231 user(s) are online (154 user(s) are browsing Support Forums)


Members: 0


Guests: 231


more...

Donat-O-Meter

Stats
Goal: $100.00
Due Date: Apr 30
Gross Amount: $0.00
Net Balance: $0.00
Left to go: $100.00
Make donations with PayPal!

Latest GitHub Commits