Eldezar
Help, adding links to main menu
  • 2004/2/8 15:03

• Eldezar

• Just popping in

• Since: 2004/2/8 1

Hi all, I am new to XOOPS and I have to say this is a great system.
I am trying to figure out how to add items to the main menu and get them to appear in the center block.

I already loaded the tiny content and freecontent modules and they work great but I need to add more links on the main menu to static pages.

I tried editing the /templates_c/*system_block_mainmenu.html and the link was added but, how do I get the page content to appear in the center block? Also, if I use this technique to add a link to the main menu how do I get a submenu under the newly added menu item?

I noticed the XOOPS home page has several different menus on the left side (Community, User Menu, General Information) is that easy to do?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

dawilby
Re: Help, adding links to main menu
  • 2004/2/8 15:42

• dawilby

• Module Developer

• Since: 2002/1/3 0

Eldezar:

Editing the files in the /templates_c/ folder is not recommended because this is the cache folder for all the pages and the files get overwritten by time to time.

But you where very close in solving your problem: look at answers in the following forum topic: HTML Links - How to?

Eldezar
  • 2004/2/8 17:26

• Eldezar

• Just popping in

Thanks for the quick reply. That thread really helped. I modified the template files and it worked. And I downloaded the MultiMenu module and that works great too. But I want the linked content to appear in the center block of my site not in a new window. Is that possible? Similar to what tinycontent does.
I already have tiny content installed and it appears on the main menu as "Design Review" and under that are sublinks to more content. Now I need another link on the Main muenu called "Special Projects" with sub links to content under that.

I hope I am explaining this correctly.

JackJ
  • 2004/2/8 17:45

• JackJ

• Community Support Member