xoops forums

acekid

Just popping in
Posted on: 2004/1/9 14:07
acekid
acekid (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 16
Since: 2004/1/8 1
#1

RSS Feed

How do I create a block to receive an RSS feed from another site?

Thanks.

lykoszine

Module Developer
Posted on: 2004/1/9 15:26
lykoszine
lykoszine (Show more)
Module Developer
Posts: 244
Since: 2002/1/2 2
#2

Re: RSS Feed

You need to have the Headlines module installed.

acekid

Just popping in
Posted on: 2004/1/9 16:15
acekid
acekid (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 16
Since: 2004/1/8 1
#3

Re: RSS Feed

thanks. do you know where i can download that mod? i didn't see it in the downloads section.

blueangel

Module Developer
Posted on: 2004/1/9 16:19
blueangel
blueangel (Show more)
Module Developer
Posts: 132
Since: 2002/2/20
#4

Re: RSS Feed

the headlines module is inside the core package, you have only to install it in System Admin->Modules

acekid

Just popping in
Posted on: 2004/1/9 16:28
acekid
acekid (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 16
Since: 2004/1/8 1
#5

Re: RSS Feed

ha. awesome. thanks for the help.

wrtbooks

Just popping in
Posted on: 2004/1/22 23:08
wrtbooks
wrtbooks (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 77
Since: 2003/3/8 1
#6

Re: RSS Feed

I there any RSS feeds for the mydownloads that people can link to to get the most recent downloads or anything else my XOOPS site? I am using version 1.3

www.sermonindex.net

let me know.

charpres

Not too shy to talk
Posted on: 2004/1/22 23:23
charpres
charpres (Show more)
Not too shy to talk
Posts: 168
Since: 2003/9/4 2
#7

Re: RSS Feed

And while we're talking about RSS, are there any plans to support Atom?

wrtbooks

Just popping in
Posted on: 2004/1/23 0:38
wrtbooks
wrtbooks (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 77
Since: 2003/3/8 1
#8

Re: RSS Feed

I go the // Lykos Syndication Module
// Written by Samuel Wright (http://www.lykoszine.co.uk)

but I want the RSS links to work all of them are just defaulting to: http://www.sermonindex.net/modules/mydownloads/index.php?lid=

and there is no lid=432 # specified.. why is this? is the coding right below? I am using XOOPS 1.3.. thanks.


Quote:
$myts = & MyTextSanitizer::getInstance();
while ( $myrow = $xoopsDB->fetchArray($result) ) {
$temp .= " <item>\n";
$temp .= " <title>".$myts->makeTboxData4Show($myrow['title'])."</title>\n";
$temp .= " <link>".XOOPS_URL."/modules/mydownloads/index.php?lid=".$myts->makeTboxData4Show($myrow['did'])."</link>\n";
$temp .= " </item>\n";

lykoszine

Module Developer
Posted on: 2004/1/23 9:08
lykoszine
lykoszine (Show more)
Module Developer
Posts: 244
Since: 2002/1/2 2
#9

Re: RSS Feed

Alright mate, now that is one BIG bug! Can't belive it has not been pointed out before.

Will sort that out this weekend sometime.

Regarding the 2 posts above. This functionality will be put in the core modules soon, rather than being a separate module.

Atom? Yeah maybe, if I can figure out how to use it

wrtbooks

Just popping in
Posted on: 2004/1/23 15:38
wrtbooks
wrtbooks (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 77
Since: 2003/3/8 1
#10

Re: RSS Feed

FIXED!

Quote:
<link>".XOOPS_URL."/modules/mydownloads/index.php?lid=".$myts->makeTboxData4Show($myrow['did'])."</link>\n";


to

Quote:
<link>".XOOPS_URL."/modules/mydownloads/index.php?lid=".$myts->makeTboxData4Show($myrow['lid'])."</link>\n";


yes the 'did' to 'lid' in the downloads.rss.php file fixed the problem. Also I just changed it from index.php to singlefile.php so it will load the page with the file instead of just being a direct download link.