lepus
First time to administration section
  • 2003/10/29 17:54

• lepus

• Just popping in

• Since: 2003/10/29

Help please. I am totally new to XOOPS and have had a day of struggle trying to get as far as I have. Following many attempts to install what I hope will be the answer to my prayers, I have managed to get the home page up.

I clicked on Administration Menu to start getting to grips with waht XOOPS can do and got a pretty green toppes but otherwise blank screen that says "This is your first time to enter the administration section. Press the button below to proceed." It tells me "Logging you in. If this page does not reload click here" and then just reloads the same pretty green-topped but otherwise blank page that says......!!

I tried all sorts of ways to arrange the files in my top directory on the site, with varying results. The first time was great. I put everything from the HTML folder on the top directory. The install went smoothly until I clicked on view your site here. I got the log in boxes and a few boxes where graphics wouldn't load. Only one gave me any clue and showed it was looking for an image in a directory I had moved. There after I tried every combination of file positioning and read pages of forum postings.

I now have all the files exactly as unpacked (ie in a folder called xoops-2.0.5) with an HTML page pointing at the index.php file. It makes the URL ugly but it will do while I play with XOOPS and see if it does what I need. I though that had fixed it.

Help

Herko
Re: First time to administration section
  • 2003/10/29 17:56

• Herko

• XOOPS is my life!

• Since: 2002/2/4 1

In your xoops/html folder there is a folder called cache. You have to make sure the system can write in this folder (UNIX CHMOD 777), in order to write the admin menu file. If that file is not there, it gives the green 'first time admin' screen.

Herko

lepus
  • 2003/10/29 19:14

• lepus

• Just popping in