xoops forums

Sikandar

Just popping in
Posted on: 2009/11/17 9:24
Sikandar
Sikandar (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 99
Since: 2005/5/19
#1

Error: Selected module does not exist?

HI all,
I am struggling with the installation of 2.4.1 on Windows server. First I tried direct installation of 2.4.1 but I was not able to configure as I was not able to proceed step 5/14. Then I removed and installed 2.2.3 and I was able to install.
After that I upgraded to 2.4.1 and all steps are GREEN. Strange thing is I am getting error "Selected module does not exist" but sometimes I don't get when I keep refreshing the page. My expectations are the error should always display or it should not. When this error is displaying I cannot go into admin area even. At that time I use to login the /upgrade/index.php.

I have not installed any additional module just using default. After this error even removed two modules so now only system. I have no idea where I am wrong or where is the problem.

- I cann't say if there is any issue in XOOPS 2.4.1?
- I cann't say if there is some issue on hosting side?
- I cann't say I am doing something wrong?

because there is no error appearing even after enabling debug option.

XOOPS Version - XOOPS 2.4.1
PHP Version - 5.2.3
MySQL Version - 4.0.24-nt
Server API Version - isapi
OS Version - WINNT


safe_mode - Off
register_globals - Off
magic_quotes_gpc - Off
allow_url_fopen - On
fsockopen - On
allow_call_time_pass_reference - Off
post_max_size - 8M
max_input_time - 60
output_buffering - 4096
max_execution_time - 30
memory_limit - 128M
file_uploads - On
upload_max_filesize - 2M

Please guide me. thanks

sailjapan

Moderator
Posted on: 2009/11/17 14:33
sailjapan
sailjapan (Show more)
Moderator
Posts: 1672
Since: 2005/11/16
#2

Re: Error: Selected module does not exist?

Quote:
Then I removed and installed 2.2.3 and I was able to install.


Did you erase the db at this stage too?

Sikandar

Just popping in
Posted on: 2009/11/17 18:00
Sikandar
Sikandar (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 99
Since: 2005/5/19
#3

Re: Error: Selected module does not exist?

Yes with 2.2.x I installed db as with 2.4.1 I was not able to do so. After connecting with 2.2 then I upgraded to 2.4.1 using 2.2.x db and mainfile. thanks

ghia

Community Support Member
Posted on: 2009/11/18 0:23
ghia
ghia (Show more)
Community Support Member
Posts: 4954
Since: 2008/7/3 1
#4

Re: Error: Selected module does not exist?

Do you use UTF-8 as your database character set? In that case the MySQL version could give problems.
As an example this query could return no records, altough there is one in the database matching the criteria.
SELECT FROM xoops_tplfile WHERE (tpl_tplset 'default' AND tpl_file 'system_block_user.html'ORDER BY tpl_refid;

Any possibility to get a version 5?

Sikandar

Just popping in
Posted on: 2009/11/18 3:50
Sikandar
Sikandar (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 99
Since: 2005/5/19
#5

Re: Error: Selected module does not exist?

Hi,
Thanks for the update. As I am trying to test with different possibilities and here are my findings,

1- Using db of 2.2.x upgraded to 2.3.3 same error.
2- Using db of 2.2.x upgraded to 2.4.1 same error.
3- I cannot proceed even to step 6 with 2.3.3, 2.4.1 while 2.2.x has no installation issue.

there is some problem with the database may be version. To test this I copies 2.4.1 on my local pc after installing WAMP and connecting to my hosting database. There was no issue and everything is fine. Only issue is when I am trying to install on hosting and trying to use the db. Which seems,

1- Any setting is missing or different on hosting site?
2- May be due to IIS/PHP setting difference?

I contacted hosting guys and they said settings are fine but there are bugs in XOOPS like even it is not throughing any error if any so better to go with 2.2.x.

Now all this is leaving me only option to go with 2.2.x.

Please guide. Thanks

ghia

Community Support Member
Posted on: 2009/11/18 9:11
ghia
ghia (Show more)
Community Support Member
Posts: 4954
Since: 2008/7/3 1
#6

Re: Error: Selected module does not exist?

So you installed 2.4 on your local PC using the MySQL on the server (where the problem is with the original install)?
Did you use a new database or connected to the same?
If it was a different one, could you connect to it from the server by changing the db definitions in the mainfile.php to see if that makes a difference?

Did you compare the PHP options?
Are you still getting this 'Selected module does not exists' error?
Can you check that all directory names are lower case?
Do you have a preference set for the starting module (default start page)?

Sikandar

Just popping in
Posted on: 2009/11/19 19:23
Sikandar
Sikandar (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 99
Since: 2005/5/19
#7

Re: Error: Selected module does not exist?

No I have setup 2.2.6 and I want to move to 2.4.1 so what do you say I can easily upgrade and will not have such issue? The behavior was strange as on one refresh there was no error while on other may be error....

Did you compare the PHP options?
>> How to compare as no idea what hosting company has set?

Are you still getting this 'Selected module does not exists' error?
>> I removed both 2.3.3 and 2.4.1 and installed 2.2.6 as both were giving same error.

Can you check that all directory names are lower case?
>>yes
Do you have a preference set for the starting module (default start page)?
>> Nothing selected. Should there be any selected.

Sikandar

Just popping in
Posted on: 2009/11/19 19:27
Sikandar
Sikandar (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 99
Since: 2005/5/19
#8

Re: Error: Selected module does not exist?

The following query is returning data on hosting db.

SELECT * FROM xoops_tplfile WHERE (tpl_tplset = 'default' AND tpl_file = 'system_block_user.html') ORDER BY tpl_refid;

ghia

Community Support Member
Posted on: 2009/11/20 0:04
ghia
ghia (Show more)
Community Support Member
Posts: 4954
Since: 2008/7/3 1
#9

Re: Error: Selected module does not exist?

Quote:
The behavior was strange as on one refresh there was no error while on other may be error..
When it is intermittent, that means there is a race condition or some termination, or work overload, .. that influences normal processing. Are there errors like eg timeouts, in the logs from IIS or database?
Quote:
How to compare as no idea what hosting company has set?
Run info.php.
Quote:
I removed both 2.3.3 and 2.4.1 and installed 2.2.6 as both were giving same error.
You do not have the error with 2.2.6?
Quote:
Should there be any selected.
No. It is one of the reasons why the module does not exists error could show, when the preference is not empty and the module there does not exists.

Sikandar

Just popping in
Posted on: 2009/11/20 5:39
Sikandar
Sikandar (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 99
Since: 2005/5/19
#10

Re: Error: Selected module does not exist?


Quote:
When it is intermittent, that means there is a race condition or some termination, or work overload, .. that influences normal processing. Are there errors like eg timeouts, in the logs from IIS or database?


No timeouts as on same hosting my 2.2.6 is working fine.

Quote:

You do not have the error with 2.2.6?

Yes working fine and no issue.

Quote:

No. It is one of the reasons why the module does not exists error could show, when the preference is not empty and the module there does not exists.

It is blank so nothing is selected.