djlowes
Adding a custom page
  • 2009/7/6 3:17

• djlowes

• Just popping in

• Since: 2009/6/29

Hi,

I am a newbie to XOOPS and the programming world. My question involves adding a custom page that isn't a module, or do all pages need to be modules? I can't seem to get my head around this.

Currently, I have a forum, blog, news and 'my profile' modules acting dynamically on the left hand side of my page. I also have buttons for 6 pages that I wish to act statically up the top of the page, but my problem is, I don't know how to link them and integrate them into xoops.

I read on a separate file that someone used the coding -

<?php
if (file_exists("mainfile.php")) {
include("mainfile.php");
}
elseif(file_exists("../mainfile.php")) {
include("../mainfile.php");
}
else {
include("../../mainfile.php");
}
include(XOOPS_ROOT_PATH . "/header.php");
$xoopsTpl->assign('xoops_showrblock', 1); // display right blocks
$xoopsTpl->assign('xoops_showlblock', 0); // display right blocks
?>
<p>my html content here</p>
<?php
include(XOOPS_ROOT_PATH . "/footer.php");
?>

However I'm not sure that applies to what I want to do or even where to put that coding if it does.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers, Dave.

ghia
Re: Adding a custom page
  • 2009/7/6 7:17

• ghia

• Community Support Member

• Since: 2008/7/3 1

Quote:
My question involves adding a custom page that isn't a module, or do all pages need to be modules?
In principle yes. Mosttimes custom blocks are used on the front page for things like a welcome message.
Quote:
I also have buttons for 6 pages that I wish to act statically up the top of the page, but my problem is, I don't know how to link them and integrate them into xoops.
You mean a kind of menu buttons in the header? These are defined in the theme.html and you must edit it for giving the buttons the URL of your pages. I assume these are pages with html content?
Quote: