xoops forums

GlowPlates

Just popping in
Posted on: 2008/12/3 21:45
GlowPlates
GlowPlates (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 49
Since: 2008/5/14
#1

install automatic

when i get my files upload and if i am reading the install directions correct all i have to do is go to my website www.whatever.com and install will begin correct?

ghia

Community Support Member
Posted on: 2008/12/4 1:25
ghia
ghia (Show more)
Community Support Member
Posts: 4954
Since: 2008/7/3 1
#2

Re: install automatic

Yes, if you placed the content(!) of htdocs in the root of your server.
If you copied the htdocs folder also, then you have to move the files or start at www.whatever.com/htdocs/ .
If you copied the files in a subdirectory eg xoops, then you have to start with www.whatever.com/xoops/ .

GlowPlates

Just popping in
Posted on: 2008/12/4 3:32
GlowPlates
GlowPlates (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 49
Since: 2008/5/14
#3

Re: install automatic

ok i have a site and the control panel only has
home
public_html

folders
should the file go to the home area?

Thanks

vamptrix

Theme Designer
Posted on: 2008/12/4 8:53
vamptrix
vamptrix (Show more)
Theme Designer
Posts: 424
Since: 2008/5/3 1
#4

Re: install automatic

Open the folder public_html and upload the contents of the htdocs there, maybe it'll work then ;)
ke.vinpet.it | Linux, webhosting and networking specialist
Do you need help with hosting, installing or customizing your XOOPS website? I also develop modules and themes for XOOPS.

GlowPlates

Just popping in
Posted on: 2008/12/5 13:07
GlowPlates
GlowPlates (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 49
Since: 2008/5/14
#5

Re: install automatic

ok here is a break down of my site
home folder
public_html folder

inside the public_html folder I have a index.html page that says when you go to the site ...it is under maintenance

I have the following

Platform Type = Debian
MySQL Version = 5.0.45
Perl Version = 5.8.8
PHP Version = 4.4.7


I have upload all file inside the htdocs folder to the public_html folder gave the folders and mainfile.php 777

but then I go to the site it just says website under maintenance still I tried to remove the index.html file that was already in there to see if that works and i get a message that says index file missing must have index file to proceed

any ideas?

Thanks
Bret

ghia

Community Support Member
Posted on: 2008/12/5 13:49
ghia
ghia (Show more)
Community Support Member
Posts: 4954
Since: 2008/7/3 1
#6

Re: install automatic

So you have:
home
|_public_html
| |_index.html
| |_index.php
| |_mainfile.php
| |_install
| |_modules
|   |_system
|
|
_xoops_trust_path
  
|_xoops_data
  
| |_configs
  
| |_caches
  
|   |_smarty_cache
  
|   |_smarty_compile
  
|   |_xoops_cache
  
|_xoops_lib
    
|_modules
      
|_protector
Commonly you should have the directory structure as above for optimal security. See the move of xoops_data and xoops_lib outside the web root. It function also, but with less security, if they stay in the public_html.
home
|_public_html
  
|_index.html
  
|_index.php
  
|_mainfile.php
  
|_install
  
|_modules
  
| |_system
  
|_xoops_data
  
| |_configs
  
| |_caches
  
|   |_smarty_cache
  
|   |_smarty_compile
  
|   |_xoops_cache
  
|_xoops_lib
    
|_modules
      
|_protector

Verify that at least the files and directories are present in the order shown. (there are a lot more of course).
However when you do not have your index.html in public_html, the web server should pick up automaticly the index.php. Are you sure you can execute php scripts in your webspace?
Can you start the installation process with yoursite.com/index.php ?

Alternative: XOOPS in a subdirectory (eg xoops):
home
|_public_html
| |_index.html
| |_xoops
|   |_index.php
|   |_mainfile.php
|   |_install
|   |_modules
|     |_system
|
|
_xoops_trust_path
  
|_xoops_data
  
| |_configs
  
| |_caches
  
|   |_smarty_cache
  
|   |_smarty_compile
  
|   |_xoops_cache
  
|_xoops_lib
    
|_modules
      
|_protector
In this case index.html contains a link or timed redirect to yoursite.com/xoops/

Yurdal

Friend of XOOPS
Posted on: 2008/12/5 14:34
Yurdal
Yurdal (Show more)
Friend of XOOPS
Posts: 367
Since: 2005/3/27
#7

Re: install automatic

Delete the index.html file from your root,
after that your install begins when you enter your site

ghia

Community Support Member
Posted on: 2008/12/5 14:41
ghia
ghia (Show more)
Community Support Member
Posts: 4954
Since: 2008/7/3 1
#8

Re: install automatic

That is what he did:
Quote:
but then I go to the site it just says website under maintenance still I tried to remove the index.html file that was already in there to see if that works and i get a message that says index file missing must have index file to proceed
So, there is something wrong with the placement or with php.

GlowPlates

Just popping in
Posted on: 2008/12/9 14:23
GlowPlates
GlowPlates (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 49
Since: 2008/5/14
#9

Re: install automatic

ok I am stumped again anyway I did a search and came up with this....I am a ipower user and this is what I found but my mind is not getting anywhere

https://xoops.org/modules/newbb/viewto ... =&topic_id=63895&forum=20


is this any help on this problem?

sailjapan

Moderator
Posted on: 2008/12/9 14:30
sailjapan
sailjapan (Show more)
Moderator
Posts: 1672
Since: 2005/11/16
#10

Re: install automatic

you need to contact your hosting service. something strange going on there...
Never let a man who does not believe something can be done, talk to a man that is doing it.