xoops forums

sailjapan

Moderator
Posted on: 2008/10/11 11:12
sailjapan
sailjapan (Show more)
Moderator
Posts: 1672
Since: 2005/11/16
#11

Re: 2.3.1 Blocksadmin dont work .. and created block too

Not guilty Mine were/are set according to the instructions.

[Edit: Sorry Marco, I mis-read your earlier comment]
Never let a man who does not believe something can be done, talk to a man that is doing it.

prometheus

Just popping in
Posted on: 2008/10/11 12:26
prometheus
prometheus (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 44
Since: 2007/6/21
#12

Re: 2.3.1 Blocksadmin dont work .. and created block too

What i can do now? Reinstall?
Portal de Nova Iguaçu - http://viaiguassu.com

Marco

Home away from home
Posted on: 2008/10/11 12:49
Marco
Marco (Show more)
Home away from home
Posts: 1256
Since: 2004/3/15
#13

Re: 2.3.1 Blocksadmin dont work .. and created block too

no, simply read the release notes and apply the chmod on the proper directories
Do synergy or die.

Anonymous

Posted on: 2008/10/11 13:26
Anonymous
Anonymous (Show more)
Posts: 0
Since:
#14

Re: 2.3.1 Blocksadmin dont work .. and created block too

You can use your FTP software to to set the CHMOD values for on-server files and folders.

Open your FTP software, connect and navigate to your /xoops_data folder.

Right-click on the folder and select the "CHMOD" option. Start by setting its CHMOD to "777". Do the same for this folder's two sub-folders (/caches and /configs). Repeat for the three sub-folders in the xoops_data/caches folder (/smarty_cache, /smarty_complie and xoops_cache).

This should sort out your problems. If all is well, you could experiment by tightening the settings to CHMOD "755". If all is well then leave it as this. If not then revert to CHMOD "777".

HTH

prometheus

Just popping in
Posted on: 2008/10/12 14:38
prometheus
prometheus (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 44
Since: 2007/6/21
#15

Re: 2.3.1 Blocksadmin dont work .. and created block too

Dont work... the same error continues.. the adminmenu.php dont exists....
Portal de Nova Iguaçu - http://viaiguassu.com

Anonymous

Posted on: 2008/10/12 15:20
Anonymous
Anonymous (Show more)
Posts: 0
Since:
#16

Re: 2.3.1 Blocksadmin dont work .. and created block too

This is going to sound a bit silly, but I also dont have a file /xoops_data/caches/xoops_cache/adminmenu.php

However, in my supposedly redundant xoops_root/cache folder I did have adminmenu.php....

So I renamed /cache to /oldcache and renamed adminmenu.php to oldadminmenu.php

The admin panel still works, showing that my 2.3.1 installation isn't using the /cache folder or the adminmenu.php within it. This is as it should be, of course.

However, even after doing this I still don't have /xoops_data/caches/xoops_cache/adminmenu.php

What's going on?

prometheus

Just popping in
Posted on: 2008/10/12 16:20
prometheus
prometheus (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 44
Since: 2007/6/21
#17

Re: 2.3.1 Blocksadmin dont work .. and created block too

Sounds crazy... i will install from 0... i dont understand qhat happen! Did you see the error tha i sent?
Portal de Nova Iguaçu - http://viaiguassu.com

Anonymous

Posted on: 2008/10/12 16:34
Anonymous
Anonymous (Show more)
Posts: 0
Since:
#18

Re: 2.3.1 Blocksadmin dont work .. and created block too

Don't reinstall from scratch just yet - you might end up in the same position. It looks like your system is so close to being operational.

I'm wondering if your xoops_var_path is correct. Can you take a look at your mainfile.php (the one on your server) and compare what it has for the xoops_var_path with the location of the /xoops_data folder (or whatever you have called it)?

Also, have you uploaded the two "checksum" files (md5 and php) to see that you have everything uploaded that should be?

prometheus

Just popping in
Posted on: 2008/10/13 12:01
prometheus
prometheus (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 44
Since: 2007/6/21
#19

Re: 2.3.1 Blocksadmin dont work .. and created block too

// For forward compatibility
    // Physical path to the XOOPS library directory WITHOUT trailing slash
    
define'XOOPS_PATH''/home/shekinah/security_path' );
    
// Physical path to the XOOPS datafiles (writable) directory WITHOUT trailing slash
    
define'XOOPS_VAR_PATH''/home/shekinah/public_html/xoops_data' );
    
// Alias of XOOPS_PATH, for compatibility, temporary solution
    
define("XOOPS_TRUST_PATH"XOOPS_PATH);


What files? (files (md5 and php)) Where?

In xoops_data folder have: caches dir, configs dir, index.html and readme.txt.
Portal de Nova Iguaçu - http://viaiguassu.com

Anonymous

Posted on: 2008/10/13 12:40
Anonymous
Anonymous (Show more)
Posts: 0
Since:
#20

Re: 2.3.1 Blocksadmin dont work .. and created block too

Quote:
prometheus wrote:

What files? (files (md5 and php)) Where?


You will find checksum.php and checksum.md5 in the XOOPS download. They are located in the directory which contains the /docs, /extras and /htdocs folders.

Upload them both to your xoops_root folder so that they site alongside other php files like mainfile.php

Once uploaded, run the file yoursite.com/checksum.php

This will tell you if there are any files missing from your installation.

Delete the two checksum files when you're done with them.