xoops forums

syahzuan87

Just popping in
Posted on: 2008/6/18 3:18
syahzuan87
syahzuan87 (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 6
Since: 2008/2/2 1
#1

How do I take over a xoops site?

Hi, i am taking over the management of a XOOPS site, i need to redesign the site n stuff.

So first of all i found myself a new theme, i found out that this isn't something easy that u can just change by visitting admin page on the site, u needa upload some files to the webspace using ftp client.

so i downloaded a ftp client, typed my username and password that i used to access the admin page of my site, it says authetication failed. i found out u need to have something called a ftp account.

a few questions:
1. if i have to take over this site, i have to use wampserver as well like what ppl did for a new site?
2. how do i set up a ftp account that enables me to upload files to webspace? or only the previous owner has the access to it? he only made me the site admin, is he holding other kinds of master username or password which u need to access ftp?

sorry for my newbieness, thanks for ur help.

avtx30

Not too shy to talk
Posted on: 2008/6/18 3:34
avtx30
avtx30 (Show more)
Not too shy to talk
Posts: 181
Since: 2006/10/12
#2

Re: How do I take over a xoops site?

As a site admin you can tweak almost of things for the front end (users/groups/modules/blocks/permissions etc.)

You need a FTP account if you wish to physically change files (php scripts, templates, css, images,...). Ask your predecessor for it. Normally the hosting company provides only one FTP account per host. Note that the FTP account is not a part of XOOPS - the CMS in question, it's different from your XOOPS admin account.

syahzuan87

Just popping in
Posted on: 2008/6/18 4:04
syahzuan87
syahzuan87 (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 6
Since: 2008/2/2 1
#3

Re: How do I take over a xoops site?

thank you, so first of all i need to get a ftp account from my friend before i think about wamp and stuff?

stefan88

Community Support Member
Posted on: 2008/6/18 4:21
stefan88
stefan88 (Show more)
Community Support Member
Posts: 1085
Since: 2004/9/20
#4

Re: How do I take over a xoops site?

Hi,

as avtx said the FTP is part from your hosting. You may need also to have some usernames/passwords for your hosting control panel, database...

If you have access to hosting control panel, you may be able to set a ftp account for yourself.
..

Dona_Brasil

Not too shy to talk
Posted on: 2008/6/18 10:42
Dona_Brasil
Dona_Brasil (Show more)
Not too shy to talk
Posts: 153
Since: 2005/10/28
#5

Re: How do I take over a xoops site?

And as you are a beginner, here is the golden tip: Make a back-up of your site and its database before you do anything!. Contact your host if you don't know how to make a backup.