technobia
XPress Email Post Function Needed
  • 2007/2/27 21:51

• technobia

• Not too shy to talk

• Since: 2006/4/17

Xoops 2.014 / WP for XOOPS (Xpress) 2.04
PHP 5.1.6 / IIS 6.0 /MySQL 4.1

First let me say I am NOT a programmer. However I can do some minor code modifications if I have clear instructions. With that said….

I need to add the same kind of email article option that is like what is on the News module for all the permanent link posts in Xpress: URL Example: ( ../modules/wordpress/?=### ). I am assuming that this URL is generated from the wordpress/templates/wordpress/single.php file.

We did try the email plug-in for WP but it is not working and I have no idea how to troubleshoot it. The person who installed it for me suggested that it was perhaps because the plug-in was for a standalone version for WP, and not specifically for “XPress”..

I would appreciate some help on this. I think this would be a great addition to Xpress and would help my users exchange information and in turn boost traffic.

This is my very first XOOPS site and I have learned a lot since this installation. I have a number of things that need fixing that we are currently working on. Please keep in mind that when and if we upgrade the XOOPS core and modules that I would hope this function would not break.
Thanks, Technobia
www.PrideDEPOT.com
Everybody Has A Right!

Stewdio
Re: XPress Email Post Function Needed
  • 2007/2/27 21:57

• Stewdio

• Community Support Member

• Since: 2003/5/7 1

The email to blog feature should work fine OOTB with the addition of filling out the options on the modules/wordpress/wp-admin/options-writing.php page

All you have to make sure is that you have an email address set up for it. Any email that account recieves will be treated as a post by email.

You can not do this for all users, you can only do this for the main admin account with this version. AFIK.