teejayuu
Can't see news
  • 2007/1/2 19:36

• teejayuu

• Just popping in

• Since: 2006/11/14

Hi
I am new to XOOPS although I do have some experience of WordPress, so please excuse what may appear trivial. I also have tried reading the documentation but the link does not appear to be working.

I have just downloaded XOOPS and the News module as I am wanting to try and create a extended blog. I have got the list of topics sorted and started putting a few news items in. My problem is that when logged out I can only see 'Home' under the 'Main Menu' and when I click it nothing appears in the central area. If I log in there is 'Home' and 'News' under 'Main Menu'. I would like to see the News module when I am logged out, is there any way that I can do this? Also what goes under 'Home' as it doesn't seem to have a purpose.

Thanks
TeeJay

Tomorrows just something to do

Mercury
Re: Can't see news
  • 2007/1/2 19:39

• Mercury

• Just popping in

• Since: 2005/3/29

Have you thought about using the Wordpress for XOOPS module. I recently set it up and its working well.

Good Luck!

teejayuu
  • 2007/1/2 19:44

• teejayuu

• Just popping in

I have thought about it, but I would like to get to grips with the terminology and structure of XOOPs as well, so I thought I would try without. Thanks for the advice I will keep it in mind for future.

BTW does the WordPress for XOOPS import a current Blog or does it modify WP tables?

Mercury
  • 2007/1/2 19:49

• Mercury

• Just popping in

• Since: 2005/3/29

Afraid I don't know it well enough to answer that question. Hopefully, someone else will be able to answer that.

Good Luck!

jensclas

Looking into the documentation - sorry about that.

Now here is what you need to do to get the hng of xoops.

1. go to site preferences and set news and the module for your start page -= that solves the home problem.