BadAngler
Developing my own module? Or do it in perl?
  • 2006/11/30 6:14

• BadAngler

• Just popping in

• Since: 2006/11/28

Hi,

I'm a long time perl programmer looking to add functionality to a new XOOPS site. I need to collect reports from members with various widgets and a corresponding count for each. I need to summarize the counts in a total on the masthead which is shown to all vistors - anonymous and members.

This is mind boggling simple in OO perl CGI.pm code. While in development I'm running XOOPS on one of my servers and know it's quick to add in a cgi page to collect my stats and present around the masthead. But likely it's best to do this in a module. Sometime in the near future we will host the developed site elsewhere with php/xoops people and I'd like local support if needed.

I've looked around for a module developers guide and found old posts from 2003. Looking for docs at Module Dev Forge I see that site is down and will be back up sometime this month (one day left or we need to change the message).

In perl module would work like this.

I present a form to a user with a two textfields per widget (description and count). One or many widgets can be input.

When I receive the form I taint check/validate and if all is good I connect via odbc, insert my variables into a table (adding the user id,date,ip address) and close the database handle.

My counts would be displayed in a block using a sql count.

I'd like some advice on how hard this is to do in XOOPS coding. A pointer to a developers guide would be great if it's not too involved.

Thanks,BA

preachur
Re: Developing my own module? Or do it in perl?
  • 2006/11/30 6:25

• preachur

• Just can't stay away

• Since: 2006/2/4 4