preachur
Multi-Site Registration
  • 2006/12/1 8:37

• preachur

• Just can't stay away

• Since: 2006/2/4 4

I am no coder. I can usually figure basic stuff out. I have been looking for a way to make several sites work off of one user database. None of the hacks have worked right so far. Now I have an idea.

I have been searching around and many XOOPS admins want users to be able to only have to register once and then be able to log in to multiple XOOPS sites.

My idea is this: Why use one user database? Why not create a simple module / hack that would register them to all of the user databases at once? Sure, it would have to be installed and configured on all of the sites. Sure, they might have to turn off the email confirmation on all of the sites but one...

Am I crazy?

I know I can probably write an .html form that can use the XOOPS register.php to register someone to an XOOPS site from another domain. Would it be possible to make a module that registers people to several sites from any site they sign up on? You could even then inform them of all the sites they now have access to in the one confirmation email.

If I knew more about .php I would try it. Can someone help by making this? I, and many other people here could use it.

Please?
Magick can never be restrained, but when freely given is thrice regained!

Will_H
Re: Multi-Site Registration
  • 2006/12/1 14:01

• Will_H

• Friend of XOOPS

• Since: 2004/10/10

Yeah, I have always just used one database, so I definitely like this.

Has anyone played with E107 lately. They have a nifty little quickregistration tool (XUP), that allows you to save a file and use it over and over again on any E107 powered domain. Automatically filling in all of your stored userdata. Format is xml-like.

ITS A BRILLIANT IDEA!

I know XOOPS is XOOPS and all, but wow, thats very cool.

check it outhttp://leaguewar.com/signup.php?stage1

chippyash
  • 2006/12/1 16:05

• chippyash

• Friend of XOOPS

• Since: 2004/1/29