herkalees
Skinning the phpbb/newbb module
  • 2006/8/3 14:38

• herkalees

• Just popping in

• Since: 2006/8/3 1

Hello all; I'm a longtime skinner of IPB, but I've never used XOOPS or what seems to be a module for phpbb inserted into Xoops.

I'm a designer/developer for a Massachusetts based dev firm, and I've been asked to skin a clients forum (which is a module within his Xoops) and while it's normally no problem, I'm having the following issues that are probably simple to most:

I had starting changing some of the files, sticking with a simple CSS background color for starters, to be sure I had control and was changing the proper files. I uploaded my files to his server, hit refresh in the browser... nothing.

So then I thought about republishing in the template area of Xoops, as this has allowed me to make skin changes quite successfully to the XOOPS home page, and still nothing.

Can anybody tell my what directory I should be working in, and/or, what method of upload/publish I should be utilizing?

Thanks!

Mantooth
Re: Skinning the phpbb/newbb module
  • 2006/8/3 15:08

• Mantooth

• Friend of XOOPS

• Since: 2004/11/2

you might need to clear out all the files in the templates_c directory and then refresh the page before you see the changes

I hate Mortal Kombat

herkalees
  • 2006/8/3 15:38

• herkalees

• Just popping in

Quote:

Mantooth wrote:
you might need to clear out all the files in the templates_c directory and then refresh the page before you see the changes

Thank you kindly for your response. To follow up, I just now deleted the entire contents of /templates_c/ (but backed them up locally) and refreshed my browser (cleared out all cache and cookies too). By these two steps alone, I didn't see my CSS edits. Is there a third step I should do in addition to the above?

Thanks!

Djiman
  • 2006/8/3 15:59

• Djiman

• Just popping in

• Since: 2006/7/26

They are hiding the templates on the DB. so you needa update your module on the db maybe.