mrjimbo
How to change the contents of the main menu and user menu?
  • 2006/6/14 9:04

• mrjimbo

• Just popping in

• Since: 2006/6/9 1

Hello!

I am a new newbie to Xoops. Although, I find XOOPS very easy to set-up. However, I am not finding a way to change the contents of the main menu and user menu. I know that I can deactivate the modules to afect the main menu. But id there another way without deactivating them? And what about the user menu?

Thanks!

Jim

jensclas
Re: How to change the contents of the main menu and user menu?

Do you mean something like renaming modules from 'wfdownloads' to downloads and 'xcgallery' to albums?
You to this in your general admin of modules. You will see you can give them a name all of your own. I suggest you go to the docs site and get the administration manual. Cheers

mrjimbo
  • 2006/6/14 20:53

• mrjimbo

• Just popping in

No... I mean the list of menu items.

For example, right now my menu has a list that says:

Home
Contact Us
Downlaods
Web Links
Forum
News
Sections
FAQ
Headlines
Members
Partners
Polls
Net 2 FTP

The User menu has the following items in the list:

View Account
Edit Account
Notifications
Logout
Inbox
Administration Menu

So, how can I modify these lists? I know that if I deactivate some of the modules, then it will get removed from the menu lists. However, is there a way to modify the lists without deactivating them?

How can I modify the user list?

I'm just a little confused. Thanks!

Jim

msdana
  • 2006/6/14 20:57

• msdana

• Just can't stay away

• Since: 2005/12/11

If you set the weight of the module to 0 (zero), it won't show up in the main menu, but it will still be activated.

Exactly, how do you wish to "modify" the main menu? You can change the name of the module in Modules Administration too.

As for the user menu, you will need to give more information on what you want to "modify"... that has alot of meanings and can be hard to explain unless you are specific in your needs.

HTH