Steakman
What is the easiest way to build a XOOPS Server?
  • 2006/4/29 10:59

• Steakman

• Just popping in

• Since: 2005/9/3 0

I have been using XOOPS for a few months now and love it :) - So much so I now want to build my Company Intranet using it, but I want to host it in-house.

Can anyone tell me what is the easiest way for me to build a dedicated server for this.

Should it be on a Linux Server or Windows Box, and are there any packages available to make it easier, as my Linux \ PHP \ MySQL knowledge is very limited.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
XOOPS 2.0.18/ PHP 5.0 / MySQL 4.1.21-standard

jdseymour
Re: What is the easiest way to build a XOOPS Server?

You may want to look at this Faq Page for minimum requirements.

I currently use PHP version 4.4.2, apache 1.3.34, MySQL 4.1.11 on CentOS Linux and it runs fine. Windows IIS will also work.

Steakman
  • 2006/4/29 11:33

• Steakman

• Just popping in

Thanks for your reply.

My main problem is lack of knowledge on how to setup PHP and MySQL.

I was looking at the product on this website:

http://www.devside.net/web/server/free/suite

But was unsure if this was my easiest option?

MadFish
  • 2006/4/29 12:09

• MadFish

• Friend of XOOPS

• Since: 2003/9/27

I suggest you take a look at Appserv. A Thai guy has put together a convenient installer package that sets up i) Apache webserver, ii) PHP and iii) MySQL. Takes about 30 seconds and you don't have to compile anything yourself. (See Ye On the Almighty Google )

There is also a 'XOOPS Standalone Server' package that does similar things, I think (I have never used that one). If I remember rightly it is somewhere in the downloads section of this site.

Bender
  • 2006/4/29 12:14

• Bender

• Home away from home

• Since: 2003/3/10

If you want to think about using xampp check this thread:

http://www.apachefriends.org/f/viewtopic.php?t=4228&highlight=production