bumperscoot
Re: Database Connection problem...

Peterr,

I'm still not able to connect.
I completely uninstalled MySQL, re-installed 4.1.18.. No go.
I checked my windows paths (i.e., system32) fora any "rogue" instances of PHP.ini, or mysql.dll, Etc.., nothing. I can use the MySQL command line client, I do have a database, Etc. I'm leaning towards a PHP issue with this one, but I'm a Newbie at PHP.

I had been previously running 5.x, without any of these issues, but was told that 4.1 was a better choice for a production site.
After a bit of google-work on this issue, I discovered a pile of links to issues between PHP-4.4.2 and MySQL 4.1.

Can anyone offer any other advice on this?
I'm ready to scrap the XOOPS efforts shortly..

Steve

m0nty
  • 2006/3/26 2:36

• m0nty

• XOOPS is my life!

• Since: 2003/10/24

y not use xampp instead..

http://www.apachefriends.org

so simple to setup a kid could do it..

bumperscoot

Thanks for the suggestion, m0nty!

I've been looking at XAMPP, however, it looks like a beast to "lock-down" for production use.

Any suggestions on which PHP/MySQL vers I should be running? I'm having no luck with this combo. I'm about to try a dry install on another machine..

Or...

XSAS??

peterr
  • 2006/3/26 22:34

• peterr

• Just can't stay away

• Since: 2004/8/5 9

I'd agree with m0nty, I had _so_ many problems when I did try a WAMP (or a WAMPP), but if you try a XAMPP, you will definitely have less issues to sort out. The site m0nty mentioned (http://www.apachefriends.org/ ) is very good and helpful.

If you have another computer, to install the XAMPP, it will be better for many reasons, but if you don't, you can make the XP box dual boot, or I think there are other ways to do it.