xoops forums

sgshell

Just popping in
Posted on: 2005/6/6 17:03
sgshell
sgshell (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 94
Since: 2004/10/4
#1

how to setup intranet to access xoops in winXP computer?

I have setup XOOPS in one of my computer(OS winxp) by using easyphp.....but i have problem on my others computer do not able to access to it.


Do anyone know where i could get more infomation on the setup?

sgshell

Just popping in
Posted on: 2005/6/7 10:20
sgshell
sgshell (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 94
Since: 2004/10/4
#2

Re: how to setup intranet to access xoops in winXP computer?

do anyone can help?

Herko

XOOPS is my life!
Posted on: 2005/6/7 10:33
Herko
Herko (Show more)
XOOPS is my life!
Posts: 4238
Since: 2002/2/4 1
#3

Re: how to setup intranet to access xoops in winXP computer?

You will have to check easyphp's configuration for this, as it has nothing to do with XOOPS> Check if there are any .htaccess files in the webserver root folder that may be blocking access, or perhaps it's a server config setting in the apache httpd.conf file. Search for the answer at easyphp

Herko

sgshell

Just popping in
Posted on: 2005/6/7 12:24
sgshell
sgshell (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 94
Since: 2004/10/4
#4

Re: how to setup intranet to access xoops in winXP computer?

thks....yes it is nothing to do with xoops...but could someone suggest any site that on seting up a intranet?

I just like to have my others computer to access to the computer that installed with xoops....
Posted on: 2005/6/7 13:57
DonXoop
DonXoop (Show more)
Posts: 1171
Since: 2003/11/27
#5

Re: how to setup intranet to access xoops in winXP computer?

I'll guess that your XOOPS_URL setting in mainfile.php is set to "127.0.0.1"? That is why it won't work anywhere else. You need to set it to the real IP of the machine. Better yet to set it to a DNS name that will resolve to the correct IP. This way you can make it work outside the local network too with the proper DNS setup.

Stewdio

Community Support Member
Posted on: 2005/6/7 15:00
Stewdio
Stewdio (Show more)
Community Support Member
Posts: 1560
Since: 2003/5/7 1
#6

Re: how to setup intranet to access xoops in winXP computer?

Quote:

DonXoop wrote:
Better yet to set it to a DNS name that will resolve to the correct IP. This way you can make it work outside the local network too with the proper DNS setup.


To further on that more, you can go to www.dyndns.org and register for free.

Then you will need a DNS updater, like the one can find at www.kana.homeip.net (temp site while they recover http://kanasolution.com). You can also head over to www.dyndns.org/support/clients/ for a full list of DNS updater Clients.

I use DynDns for everything, like dishing out my FTP, or working with remote control software from other machines or what have you.

Good Luck.