xoops forums

ajaxbr

Quite a regular
Posted on: 2005/5/7 5:24
ajaxbr
ajaxbr (Show more)
Quite a regular
Posts: 276
Since: 2003/10/25
#31

Re: Xoops overloading my Server

Try removing the Poll block (could be checking against dupe votes?). Also, try turning off Adverts, New Members and Affiliates one at a time.

Wait, is that huge image list at left a module? A menu module? if it is, there you go...

Good luck

Skythe

Just popping in
Posted on: 2005/5/7 13:16
Skythe
Skythe (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 99
Since: 2004/7/2 2
#32

Re: Xoops overloading my Server

Quote:

ajaxbr wrote:
Try removing the Poll block (could be checking against dupe votes?). Also, try turning off Adverts, New Members and Affiliates one at a time.

Wait, is that huge image list at left a module? A menu module? if it is, there you go...

Good luck


Ads, Affiliates and Smilies are all custom blocks. Plain HTML, no XOOPS or db stuff.

I removed the Poll now lets see if that helps. T.T My guess would be theme.html....

Skythe

Just popping in
Posted on: 2005/5/10 12:54
Skythe
Skythe (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 99
Since: 2004/7/2 2
#33

Re: Xoops overloading my Server

Ok the site is now down more oftn than not and it seems like a clean install is the only way out

if i am to take a new XOOPS installation and use a backup from the current database, could that 'infest' the new xoops? Guess not but doesnt hurt asking ^^

oh and i havent tried with persistent connection yet. what about that?

pegasus00321

Quite a regular
Posted on: 2005/5/11 3:16
pegasus00321
pegasus00321 (Show more)
Quite a regular
Posts: 339
Since: 2005/4/29
#34

Re: Xoops overloading my Server

I dont think you need to reinstall it. It can be relatively easily made to use less queries.

I dont exactly have the time to help you do that, but I'm sure someone here at the forums can help you if you give them admin and they can go in and check your cache settings.

brash

Friend of XOOPS
Posted on: 2005/5/11 3:30
brash
brash (Show more)
Friend of XOOPS
Posts: 2206
Since: 2003/4/10
#35

Re: Xoops overloading my Server

First step would be to know which module is producing them, and I cannot see a default install of NewBB 1 or News 1.1 doing this. Doesn't Daves hack posted on the first page log all the MySQL queries to a file? This would be a first step in find where the hell they are all coming from.

karuna

Not too shy to talk
Posted on: 2005/5/11 5:34
karuna
karuna (Show more)
Not too shy to talk
Posts: 171
Since: 2002/5/29
#36

Re: Xoops overloading my Server

turn on the mysql&block debug to see where these queries come from

danMAN

Just popping in
Posted on: 2005/5/11 9:09
danMAN
danMAN (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 41
Since: 2004/3/13
#37

Re: Xoops overloading my Server

Quote:
Page generated in 39.349 Seconds | 39574 Queries


This is some bad luck, no? Sorry can't help (because I'm new to php), but hope you have some luck in finding out what's causing your issue.

highlander

Not too shy to talk
Posted on: 2005/5/11 10:33
highlander
highlander (Show more)
Not too shy to talk
Posts: 151
Since: 2004/12/5
#38

Re: Xoops overloading my Server

Like Karuna said; try turning on MySQL debug and record its output. It will tell you were the queries are coming from.

I suggest running it as user who is not logged in; as a user who is logged in and as an admin and compare the results for a specif set af pages (make an excel-file)

This should make it possible for you to find out where all these queries are coming from..

good luck; Highlander

Skythe

Just popping in
Posted on: 2005/5/11 12:35
Skythe
Skythe (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 99
Since: 2004/7/2 2
#39

Re: Xoops overloading my Server

Quote:

karuna wrote:
turn on the mysql&block debug to see where these queries come from


While the site is online? What will that do?

Skythe

Just popping in
Posted on: 2005/5/15 21:15
Skythe
Skythe (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 99
Since: 2004/7/2 2
#40

Re: Xoops overloading my Server

?