DJ007
Upgrading A Fantastico Install
  • 2005/4/5 20:11

• DJ007

• Just popping in

• Since: 2004/2/15

Hiya,

while not a total noob, I'm not a coder and sorta rely on the how tos and trial and error alot, but I'm not comfortable with that on system core files (modules is another matter)

I have looked for some version upgrade info and found some, but mostly it's 2.0.7x to 2.0.9x

My installs have been thru' fantastico which I think have all been 2.0.5.2, The questions are; can I do a version upgrade from the fantasico version to the lastest stable version the same way? Which is the best version to upgrade to from where I am now?

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated, and thanks in advance.

jensclas
Re: Upgrading A Fantastico Install

I originally used Fantastico to install my XOOPS but have operated with FTP ever since. You can manually download the latest version and upgrade your site. I would suggest you search for information on upgrading from 2.0.5.2 to 2.0.9.x before you begin. I am a noob and find things a bit scary - but I wait for information to be available and then jump right in...so search for info and when you feel well armed go for it. If there are problems ask the question and someone will be sure to help.

Cheers Jenny

martyboy
  • 2005/4/5 22:19

• martyboy

• Quite a regular

• Since: 2004/5/25

I would back up everything before attempting an upgrade of XOOPS through Fantastico, I tried to upgrade with fantastico once and it totally messed up my site, for some reason it uninstalled all the modules.

Now I always upgrade manually using the latest upgrades and patches from xoops.org though I do still make the original install with fantastico.

DJ007
  • 2005/4/6 4:01

• DJ007

• Just popping in

• Since: 2004/2/15

Hi Guys,

I read both your pdf, Jenny, and the XOOPS install manual and I thought I'd try the upgrade on a subdomain that wouldn't matter much to lose as I mostly use it to test stuff out.